BOOK REVIEW: Coraline by Neil Gaiman

6283504ASIN: B000FC1192
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: October 6, 2009
Format: Kindle Edition
Pages: 208 pages

SYNOPSIS

The day after they moved in, Coraline went exploring….

In Coraline’s family’s new flat are twenty-one windows and fourteen doors. Thirteen of the doors open and close.

The fourteenth is locked, and on the other side is only a brick wall, until the day Coraline unlocks the door to find a passage to another flat in another house just like her own. Only it’s different.

d8082-add-to-goodreads-button3


“No, said the cat. Now, you people have names. That’s because you don’t know who you are. We know who we are, so we don’t need names.”

If this book wasn’t recommended to me I wouldn’t have thought that I would picked it up. I couldn’t also believe that this is categorized(?) as a children’s book. I’m already a grown woman but I still got the chills while reading it. It was a fast and easy read and I like the pacing. I also loved that some of the quotes I highlighted were relatable in a personal level. I think I would have view it in a different perspective if I have read this when I was a bit younger.

Overall, I really liked this book. I just didn’t like the scene with the rats because it was very unsettling. I got goosebumps while reading it. The parents with the button eyes were also scary. So, I really admire Coraline’s bravery throughout the whole book. Definitely, a must read for everyone.

And oh, I also loved Miss Spink, Miss Forcible, and Mr. Bobo! Their character added more to the book. Sure they still have their quirks but I really enjoyed reading their encounters with Coraline. I think my personal favorite is Mr. Bobo, he might be a bit odd but I do like how he cares for his circus of rats. Still a bit creepy though.

Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I’m reading The Graveyard Book next. But before I do that maybe I’ll watch the Coraline movie first. So thank you for reading up until here!

signature

P.S. It’s best to not read this at night if you have a very active imagination…like me. *shivers* lol.

Source: 
Header photo: http://www.geeksraisinggeeks.com/graphic-novels-for-girls/

8 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

