BOOK REVIEW: Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

32320750ISBN13: 9780553321498
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication date: July 25, 2017
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 336 pages

SYNOPSIS

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

d8082-add-to-goodreads-button3


All the ghost stories got it wrong: evil isn’t a spirit or a monster or a ghost. It lives inside regular people, and it doesn’t know the difference between night and day.

I JUST FINISHED THIS BOOK A FEW HOURS AGO SO PLEASE BEAR WITH MY EMOTIONS. THANK YOU. (I was supposed to publish this last Sunday but I couldn’t write anything so let’s start again.)

Holy freaking cow. What did I just read? This are one of the rare times that I’m glad that I bought it out of spite. My friend Gieliza told me that she heard a lot of good things about this book and since I trust all of her recommendation, I decided to buy it. And it was one of the best decision I made this month. lol. I was in a massive book slump so finishing this book was really satisfying. Anyway, enough of this blabbering. Let’s get in to the review!

divider

After a terrible fight with her unstable mom, Kacey Young was sent to live in with her father’s new family. She finally met her father’s wife, Ashley and her two new siblings, Andrew and Lauren. New family. New school. New Life. So when Bailey asked her to be her partner for class she started to be a bit comfortable. She was also introduced to Jade, Bailey’s best friend, and they became inseparable ever since. The three of them did everything together. So when they didn’t invite Kacey to the biggest party ever, she got confused. Did she do something wrong? She even got more confused when she learned that Bailey never made it home after leaving the party.

In a town as small as Broken Hills where everyone knows everyone it is really easy to point fingers on who did it. One of the suspect is Cliff, the boy who hated Bailey for ruining his future because of a DUI he got when they were together. And, of course since Kacey is still new to the place it was also easy to think of her as a suspect since she was always first to see the evidences.

The writing was good and the plot twists were beautifully executed. At first, it gave me a bit of a Dangerous Girls vibe, I thought the ending would be the same. Or maybe Kacey had a multiple-personality disorder and she just can’t remember what she did. I had a lot of theories while reading it and when the killer was revealed I was shocked because I really didn’t see it coming.

I really enjoyed reading this book! You could read it in one sitting but I suggest that you take your time with it. It’s an easy read but when you really get into that moment when you are trying to figure everything out you would really want to investigate it yourself. Also, I loved that the author inserted the town’s local legend. It made the atmosphere of the book more creepy for me and I thought it was going to be a horror for a second. lol.

As for the characters, I really liked Ashley because she was a good mother figure. She really took care of the family and she acted like a real and responsible mom for Kacey. I think Kacey just need to accept her and realize that it’s okay to let people in and she doesn’t need to single herself out because she felt like an intruder.

Overall, I really like this book. There were some boring parts but I really don’t mind them. I just kept on reading until I get into the interesting parts again. Also, I wished that maybe there was a chapter or a page that showed how the deed happened. But, I think the explanation was also alright. Still a good YA psychological thriller! I still highly recommend it to people who are a fan of Gillian Flynn!

Thank you for reading until here! And until next time!

signature

 

Leave a Reply

