BOOK REVIEW: Internet Famous by Danika Stone

31145123ISBN13: 9781250114372
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Publication date: June 6, 2017
Format: Paperback
Pages: 320 pages

SYNOPSIS

High school senior and internet sensation Madison Nakama seems to have it all: a happy family, good grades, and a massive online following for her pop-culture blog. But when her mother suddenly abandons the family, Madi finds herself struggling to keep up with all of her commitments.

Fandom to the rescue! As her online fans band together to help, an online/offline flirtation sparks with Laurent, a French exchange student. Their internet romance—played out in the comments section of her MadLibs blog—attracts the attention of an internet troll who threatens the separation of Madi’s real and online personas. With her carefully constructed life unraveling, Madi must uncover the hacker’s identity before he can do any more damage, or risk losing the people she loves the most… Laurent included.

d8082-add-to-goodreads-button3


“I’m french. Coffee isn’t just a beverage, it’s a sacrament.”

This is my first ever book by Danika Stone and I purchased this without really reading the blurb. I just relied on the cover and the quote that was on there and since it piqued my interest, I decided to pick it up.

Internet Famous was pretty cute and fluffy. Since, I haven’t read anything by the author I didn’t really know what to expect. It was written in the third person POV and that is a problem with me in other books. I *dislike* reading books in third person because it tends to get me distracted. But, while I was reading Internet Famous, I didn’t notice it! I was flying by the pages and I just noticed that it was written in third person when I stopped reading to get my feels together! I was already halfway across the book when I found out. I was really impressed!

Basically this book is about the life of a teen blogger with a huge following. She met online friends who later became her real-life friends. But of course, when you have a huge following you can’t really escape the trolls. Madi founds herself being harassed by this internet troll online and it is also capable of ruining her life offline. Even though this book may seem like a light and fluffy read-it also discusses serious topics like cyberbullying. It is important that we learn how to deal with internet trolls when it gets serious.

Throughout the book you would see text messages, pictures, Snapseds (which is similar to Snapchat), Tumblr posts, and coffee, this made the book more entertaining for me. And this is probably the reason why I also bought the paperback. lol. I also loved how this book showed that even though you only met online— friends are friends. And, friends got your back no matter what. Whether in real life or online.

And lastly, this book showed more than awareness. I liked the concept and the book made me swoon. Even though the romance part was kind of an insta-love relationship, I still enjoyed it. And I would really recommend it to someone who would want to read something fluffy but also significant.

I think I’m going to get her first book now. I heard it has fandoms!

Thank you for reading up until here! Until next time!

signature

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Internet Famous by Danika Stone

Leave a Reply

