BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3)

23766634ISBN13: 9781619634480
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Publication date: May 2, 2017
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 705 pages

SYNOPSIS

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

d8082-add-to-goodreads-button3


“Night Triumphant—and the Stars Eternal.”

Note: This is not a spoiler-free review.


You could find my review for ACOTAR here and ACOMAF here.

This is my most AWAITED book this year and can I just say this..I expected a lot. Are my expectations met? Yes, a bit. But, we’ll get to that point in a minute.

I was so scared while reading this book because we don’t have any idea how Maas’ will end this series because this will be her first time. I was really scared because she might kill one or two or more of our favorite characters so I conditioned myself on what would happen. The first few chapters were easy to get through unlike ACOMAF wherein I just wanted to see Rhysand already. But, here I was very patient when Feyre was in the Spring court.

I tried to read slowly but I couldn’t put it down. It’s also a good thing because there were loads of spoilers around and I didn’t want them to ruin my reading experience. What I loved while reading this novel is Feyre’s character growth. I loved how she is healing and in the process she also started accepting and forgiving herself for everything that had happened to her. She’s still a flawed character and sometimes she still make bad calls but I think that is what makes her character more relatable.

I also loved how Maas showed different ships aside from Feyre and Rhys. I was so glad to read more about Cassian, Nesta, Azriel, and Elain. I’m really rooting for Az and Elain because cauldron bless me, I just know they have something right there! And Cassian and Nesta are pretty much obvious so let us hope that the next books will be about them!

The war build up in this book was pretty long and I was kinda getting impatient. I mean, I do get it-they need to prepare for the war and they need to gather their allies and stuff. But, it was just so long and there were a lot of challenges along the way. But hey, I still enjoyed that. My personal favorite was when Az and Feyre rescued Elain. (I’m a huge shipper okay? Haha!)

This book was a rollercoaster ride. I shed a few tears here and there. I shed a tear when Rhys was thanking his (inner circle) family for everything. I cried for the Suriel, I cried for the Carver, and I most certainly cried for Rhys. It was a hell of a ride but I’m contented with how the story ended.

And let me just say this, Tamlin and Feyre’s closure. Thank you, Sarah for that. That simple sentence from Tamlin was everything I could hope for. I really didn’t think that Maas will give us that but I was glad she did. And maybe, that is the start of Tamlin’s healing.

There are still a lot to talk about but I think this would already be a long ass review if I start to elaborate more.

So here are just some random parts that I also loved:

  • Meeting the other High Lords.
  • More details of the other courts.
  • Those ARMED POLAR BEARS of the Winter Court.
  • Cassian leading the troops.
  • The library that Rhys showed Feyre.
  • Lucien’s story.
  • When the ships came to help in the war. (This scene was similar to EoS)
  • Nesta and Elain and the King of Hybern.
  • Cassian and Nesta’s banter.
  • And, anything Az and Elain.
  • Mor’s confession.
  • Amren and Rhys’ sacrifice.

Overall, I enjoyed the book. And, I’m sad that this series is already finished. Although, there were a lot of side characters that I want some back story. But, I hope they’ll be there again in the companion novels.

Thank you again for reading up until here. And, until next time!

signature

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3)

Leave a Reply

