BOOK REVIEW: By Your Side by Kasie West

30256248ISBN13: 9780062455864
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication date: January 31, 2017
Format: Paperback
Pages: 342 pages

Synopsis

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

d8082-add-to-goodreads-button3


The was something very satisfying about a smile that had to be earned.

I thought I would be disappointed in this Kasie West novel because it started off so slow and it was boring me out to the point that I just want to put the book down. When my local bookstore finally brought out copies of By Your Side, I asked them to immediately reserve one for me. Come on, it’s Kasie West! And it’s valentine season so it was just a perfect read. Also, I picked this book up for the Bookish Pinoy’s Valentine Readathon which you could see here. (Bookish Pinoys is a Filipino reading group that I’m a part of. If you would like to join a book community, try ours!)

Anyway, By Your Side is a very different West novel. I liked how the story progressed and the characters were at first hard to like but when you get to read a few more chapters you’ll eventually like them both. The story starts when Autumn got locked inside a library, I know right? Dream come true. She thought that her friends where coming back for her in a few minutes but when hours passed she knew that they were not coming. When she thought she was alone, there comes Dax. At first, Dax was a bit hard to read but after reading their library adventures, I came to love him.

The story line was so cute, a bit realistic, romantic, angsty and mature. It was the perfect valentine read. What I also liked about this novel is Autumn’s relationship with her family especially her brother. I loved reading about their little family moments. I also loved Lisa and Autumn’s friendship I think from their clique, Lisa is the most genuine person. And of course, I loved how Autumn and Dax’s relationship progressed. I can’t say that it was insta-love because for me it took a lot of realizations on Autumn’s part and Dax was also in-denial but I’m glad everything worked out in the end.

Small things I like:

  1. Milkshakes
  2. Autumn’s brother
  3. Library games
  4. Autumn saying SOB.
  5. Lisa

Overall, this book was everything I was hoping it to be. Light and fluffy. I would recommend it to anyone who is having a bad day or maybe a reading slump. It will start of a bit slow but just keep on reading and you would eventually like it as much as I do.

Thank you for reading up until here!

signature

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: By Your Side by Kasie West

Leave a Reply

