COMBINED REVIEWS: Scythe, Unwind, One True Loves

I’ve been busy a lot lately so please forgive me when I can’t post reviews as often as before. I know I’ve been saying that I’ll post a review for this book after reading it but life has been in the way and I do have other priorities to take care off.

So to get back on track-I’ll be combining three reviews in one post. They might not be as detailed as I want to but these are still my honest opinions about them. So, let’s stop the rambling and let’s get started!

28954189Scythe by Neal Shusterman
Rating: 5/5 
stars

“I think all young women are cursed with a streak of unrelenting foolishness, and all young men are cursed with a streak of absolute stupidity.”

Scythe was my first read for 2017. This is also my first Neal Shusterman book and it did not disappoint. I picked this up out of curiosity and I saw it circulating around Instagram for some time already.

Basically, Scythe is about a world with no hunger, no disease, no war, no misery and no deaths. So, in order to keep the population at bay, the Scythes are commanded to kill. This book is death literally knocking at your door.

We follow two people in this book, Citra and Rowan. What I like about this one is how strong the female lead is. I had fun reading Citra’s POV and I felt like I was anticipating her chapters more than Rowan’s. Rowan on the other hand was like a soft little puppy, I did enjoyed his chapters and while I thought he would be a soft puppy until the end of the novel there came a surprise. If you want to know what it is, you better read this now!

This book was so good and it was hard to put down. I loved the concept, the pacing, the writing, the characters, everything! I enjoyed every page and I could not wait for the second book.

d8082-add-to-goodreads-button3


764347

Unwind by Neal Shusterman
Rating: 3/5 stars

“Stupid dreams. Even the good ones are bad, because they remind you how poorly reality measures up.”

Since, I loved Scythe so much I decided to pick up another Shusterman novel. This was recommended to me before by my good friend Eunice and since I had a good reading experience with Shusterman’s writing I decided to pick this one up.

In Unwind, when you are between thirteen and eighteen you could be “unwound,”where all of the child’s organs will be transplanted into different donors. This doesn’t make you dead though, you are still alive but you are divided in to a lot of pieces and wherever those pieces end- a part of you goes with it.

In this book, we follow three children that are on their way in to a Harvesting camp. Then suddenly an accident happened which gave these 3 individuals a chance to escape their “death”. This book has also an interesting concept but the pacing was so slow. It took a lot of chapters and a lot of patience for me to get into it.

The concept of Unwinding was really disturbing for me especially when you get to read the process of it. I could just imagine it and it’s really unsettling. Overall, I did enjoy it even though there are scenes that are just plain boring for me but I will still read the other books in this Dystology because the ending was a bit of a cliff-hanger and I still want to give this a chance.

d8082-add-to-goodreads-button3


27189194

One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Rating: 4/5 stars

“When you love someone, it seeps out of everything you do, it bleeds into everything you say, it becomes so ever-present, that eventually it becomes ordinary to hear, no matter how extraordinary it is to feel.”

I love this book so much that I just read it in a day. This is the kind of book that you would want to read in a day that you don’t feel like doing anything. It made me tear up in some chapters and I just love how this shows a person’s love for her family, for her significant other, and for herself.

This book shows that true love is not just being with the person you are in love with but it also shows that when you love someone truly you are willing to do anything for that person’s happiness. And that is what happened in this book.

I enjoyed the writing and even though I was rooting for the high-school sweetheart because I have a strong belief on what they had. But, I do understand what happen. And I was happy that it all worked out in the end.

d8082-add-to-goodreads-button3


And that is it! I’m sorry it’s too short of a review. But, I’ll really try to post a more detailed one when I get to finish another book. As always, thank you so much for reading up until here! I know I haven’t blog for quite some time but thank you for taking the time to read this and visit from time to time.

xo, Cath

2 thoughts on “COMBINED REVIEWS: Scythe, Unwind, One True Loves

Leave a Reply

