BOOK REVIEW: Bad Mommy by Tarryn Fisher

31415712

ISBN13: B01N7LNCZQ
Publication date: December 24, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition

SYNOPSIS

When Fig Coxbury buys a house on West Barrett Street, it’s not because she likes the neighborhood, or even because she likes the house. It’s because everything she desires is next door: The husband, the child, and the life that belongs to someone else.

d8082-add-to-goodreads-button3


“I see you getting things you don’t deserve, living it up. It fucking sucks. I feel resentful because I deserve it more than you do. I could be a better you.”

It’s been so long since I posted a book review. I’ve been so busy this holidays season and when I finish a book I tend to forget the things that I would blog about it. Anyway, I’m starting to get my blogging mojo back and let’s start with this one!

I one-clicked this book out of curiosity. I loved Tarryn’s Love Me With Lies series and it was one of my favorite books to read. I liked how she writes because it was raw and the way she ends her books are somehow true to life.

Bad Mommy is about Fig Coxbury being obsessed with her neighbor Jolene Avery because she has what she didn’t have-a marriage, a perfect husband, and a beautiful daughter. In the first few chapters it was really creepy because Being inside Fig’s head was a bit unsettling she was really making herself believe that she is or she can be a better version of Jolene. Fig kept on copying everything about her, her Instagram “aesthetic”, her clothes, her furniture, even her hair color. It was really unsettling and I almost DNF this one because it was just getting repetitive and repetitive and I was waiting for something exciting to happen.

Since this book was divided into three parts you would see Fig in different perspective. The second part was Darius’ point of view, this part of book was I think my least favorite because it started out promising but I felt it was somehow rushed.

The last part is Jolene’s point of view, this where I just really want to finish the book already. It was just the same thing over and over. Through out Jolene’s point of view she finally believed that Fig was really copying her and it was great that she finally did something about it. But that was just it. There were no big plot twists in the end.

I really tried to like this book but there is just something lacking for me. It felt like I was just running and running into something I already know. Maybe that is something Tarryn want the reader to experience but it was just not for me. I’m not discouraging anyone from reading it because we all have different reading preferences. It started good but I just felt bored while reading the other parts.

Let me know if you have also read this book already! Thank you for reading up until here!

xo, Cath

Leave a Reply

