BOOK REVIEW: The Suffering by Rin Chupeco (The Girl From The Well, #2)

24789796ISBN13: 9781492629849
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: September 8, 2015
Format: Paperback
Pages: 313 pages

SYNOPSIS

Seventeen-year-old Tark knows what it is to be powerless. But Okiku changed that. A restless spirit who ended life as a victim and started death as an avenger, she’s groomed Tark to destroy the wicked. But when darkness pulls them deep into Aokigahara, known as Japan’s suicide forest, Okiku’s justice becomes blurred, and Tark is the one who will pay the price

d8082-add-to-goodreads-button3


But flawed as we are, we are perfect together.

I don’t really get scared whenever I read YA horror books but this duology got me scared in broad daylight.

This is an amazing sequel for The Girl From The Well, I didn’t think it could get more scarier than the first book. The plot is better and scarier and the way the author describes the place, ghosts, and atmosphere will give you goosebumps everywhere.

I don’t know how to make this review spoiler free because you really need to read this book/duology for yourself. It’s just too good to pass it up. I know I said that it’s scary but it’s worth the scare in a bright sunny morning. lol. Also, by reading this book, you will be supporting one of our local authors! Yes, Rin Chupeco is a Filipino author.

What I can say about this book is that it’s a perfect representation on how you would end a duology. It’s plot got better and the characters are also as interesting and lovable as the first one. This is still told in Tark’s POV and I always love reading his narrations, I also love how in this second book we see more of Tark and Okiku’s bond. Also, they both hunt bad people to give justice to restless souls so that they could give them peace.

This book is much scarier because it is set on Aokigahara or also known as the suicide-forest in Japan. Another thing that I love about this and the author is that when you read something here about the Japanese places/culture it is well researched. So it feels more real.

Tark and Okiku quest begins when Kagura is reported missing together with American ghost hunters in Aokigahara. What are they trying to find there and why did they get lost? You need to read the book to find out!

Overall this book is one of my go-to horror books. I’m still waiting for Rin to publish another horror book because I love her writing! Also, if you guys are wondering if I had another strange thing happened to me while I was reading this book. Yes, something happened again.

My The Girl From The Well review can be found here. 

Thank you for reading up until here!

xo, Cath

Leave a Reply

