BOOK REVIEW: Our Souls At Night by Kent Haruf

23602562ISBN13: 9781101875902
Publisher: Knopf
Publication date: May 26, 2015
Format: Ebook
Pages: 179 pages

SYNOPSIS

Addie Moore pays an unexpected visit to a neighbor, Louis Waters. Her husband died years ago, as did his wife, and in such a small town they naturally have known of each other for decades; in fact, Addie was quite fond of Louis’s wife. His daughter lives hours away in Colorado Springs, her son even farther away in Grand Junction, and Addie and Louis have long been living alone in houses now empty of family, the nights so terribly lonely, especially with no one to talk with.

d8082-add-to-goodreads-button3


“Who would have thought at this time in our lives that we’d still have something like this.”

I stumble upon this book when I was just lurking at BookOutlet, I was just browsing in the fiction category when I saw this book. The first thing that caught my attention is that the cover was so plain but at the same time it felt cozy. I read the synopsis and it got me interested so I decided to read it first on ebook.

Our Souls At Night in my understanding is Kent Haruf’s last novel. I have yet to read his others work but based on the reviews on Goodreads, I might pick up one of his books soon. This book is beautiful and also sad at the same time.

I finished this book while I was in class and it made me emotional. The whole story made me sad. Even though it was just close to 200 pages and you could probably finish it in one sitting-the emotions were all there. The story begins when Addie Moore approaches Louis, his neighbor, and asks if he would consider coming to her house to share her bed.

I fell in love with Addie and Louis instantly. There is just something about old people that will make you feel warm and cozy when you are reading about them. I love how they talk about their past lives, their families, their wishes, and of course how they feel about one another. I also loved Addie’s grandson, Jaime and I also love the dog they got for him.

Overall this book is beautiful. But, what I didn’t like was how it ended and how in some parts I didn’t agree on what was happening. Also, I find the lack of quotation in the dialogues made me a bit confused. But overall, I still loved this book. It was a sad book but it would make you think about the elderly more. I love my grandparents and I would treasure them forever and I would do anything and everything just to make them happy. (You would get this once you read the book.) 

Thank you for reading up until here!

xo, Cath

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Our Souls At Night by Kent Haruf

Leave a Reply

