MINI REVIEW: Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

I binged read the Throne of Glass Series last month and I’ve been meaning to do a book review for each of them. But, since I’ve been so busy with my thesis, I’ll just combine them all in one mini review. I know I’m a late bloomer in this fandom and I was asking myself why I haven’t read this a little bit sooner. But, I’m glad that I finally picked it up and my life has changed ever since. lol.

throne_of_glass_ukThrone of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)

This is the first book in the series. And at first, I couldn’t get myself into reading this book because I’m not a fan of third person point of views. But as I was reading more into it I didn’t realized that I was already hooked.

In this first installment of the series, we met Celaena Sardothien, She was in Endovier because she was serving her life sentence for being Adarlan’s Most Notorious Assassin until the Crown Prince offered her a deal.

The deal was if she becomes the King of Adarlan’s champion, the prince would set her free in 4 years. Since Celaena was craving for her freedom, she accepted the deal.

The story was a bit contradicting at first because even though Celaena is a notorious assassin she still whines like a little girl. She still cares for the finer things in life. But, I think that is what makes her different from the others and I still like that about her.

For the relationships in the book, they were okay. But, they didn’t really picked my interest that much. I think that Celaena was too good for both of the men in this book. But, I loved Celaena and Nehemiah’s friendship, they were both powerful in their own right and that’s what made me love the book more.

Overall the plot was okay and promising. It built the atmosphere for the following books and it was not hard to get into for someone like me who dislikes third person POVs and fantasy books. It was a good start and I thoroughly enjoyed the first book.

Rating: 5/5stars


crown-of-midnight-coverCrown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)

This is the second installment of the series. And, I think I liked this book a lot more because this is where things get interesting. This book is a bit faster than it’s predecessor and it makes the book harder to put down.

This is where Celaena’s character develops more and I love how we could also see her vulnerable side since she was built up as a hard and ruthless assassin in book one. But then again, she was more feared in this book rather than the first. There were a lot of badass moments in this one and it would really  get you hooked.

As for the relationships in. I will sound bias because I did ship Celaena with the Captain of the Guard so I really did enjoy this book. It gave me different ~*feels*~ and I couldn’t get over it. Until……

Rating: 5/5stars


b1f83444a3fcfa2ab6a9b406cb65d791Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)

This was the slowest of all the books for me. It really took time before I got into the more interesting parts of this book. In the third installment, we will get to know more about Celaena’s past and people. I liked the different POVs because it makes the story more interesting.

I like the new characters that was introduced here. I like Aelin and Rowan’s relationship  because they showed how important having a good foundation is. I also love the introduction of the Ironteeth Clan. And, finally Chaol choses a side he wants to be in. The plot gets more and more interesting and I couldn’t wait to dive in to Queen of Shadows after reading this.

And also, #Rowaelin.

Rating: 5/5 stars


406ae7d5fb23809434f5d76054f701c3Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)

“And at long last, Aelin Ashyrver Galathynius was home.”

This is probably my favourite out of the four books. It didn’t started out slow like Heir of Fire and there were more action packed scenes. Aelin is even more badass here and I love the addition of characters adds character in her group.

The plot twists in this book is also excellent and you wouldn’t really see it coming. But, what I really liked most in this book is getting more Manon. I love her character and I’m totally excited to read more about her in Empire of Storms.

I was glad that I finished QoS a few days earlier before Empire of Storms comes out. I might not be able to wait a year for the next book to come up. I need my Rowaelin moments.

Rating: 5/5stars


And that’s it! I really want to put in more but I don’t want to spoil you guys if you haven’t read the series yet. For someone who dislikes this kind of genre I really enjoyed this one. I never thought that I would love and enjoy this series this much. I rated them all 5 stars that’s how much I enjoyed it. But, I still love ACOTAR more. *hides*

If you haven’t read this series yet maybe you should try it. You’ll never know, right?

*Oh, I haven’t read The Assassin’s Blade. Maybe after I read Empire of Storms because I’m not ready to meet Sam Cortland yet.*

Thank you for reading up until here! Until next time!

xo, Cath

4 thoughts on “MINI REVIEW: Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

