BOOK REVIEW: Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

28960218ISBN13: 9780062564122
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication date: September 20, 2016
Format: Paperback
Pages: 416 pages

SYNOPSIS:

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


“Three dark queens are born in a glen, sweet little triplets will never be friends. There dark sisters all fair to be seen, two to devour and one to be Queen.”

Even though I’ve already guessed what the big twist would be in the end of the book. I still enjoyed it very much. It started out a bit confusing for me because it was written in three different point of views but you’ll eventually get used to it after reading a few chapters. What I do like about three different POVs is that you get to know the three queens separately. Reading about Katharine, Arsinoe, and Mirabella’s life is quite interesting because you would see how different they are from each other.

My personal favorite is Katharine (not just because we have the same name lol) because the author really built her character up. She was the youngest of the sisters and she was the smallest of them too but the darkness that surrounds her was just amazing I love her!

Arsinoe is my second favorite. She is the middle sister and she was built up to be brave and stubborn but what I love about her is her loyalty to her friends.

Mirabella is my least favorite. She is the eldest sister and she was built up to be the strongest of them all. But, she has this attitude that didn’t quite set well for me.

The relationships is also okay. It was quite interesting but I couldn’t say anything more because it might spoil you guys. But my personal faves are Pietyr and Billy.

The book started a bit slow but what I loved about it is that it really set the atmosphere. Every POV has a different feel to it. I found the three queens interesting and they were shown equally in this first book. The twist by the end of the book is not at all surprising to me because as I’ve said I’ve already guessed it from the first few chapters. But, it didn’t affect my reading experience, I was still engrossed while I was reading it. It may be a typical YA fantasy book for me but since the first book is very promising. I would still read its sequel next year.

If you are a fan of fantasy books that includes queens and other paranormal things. Then you might also like this! I was not really expecting to like it as much as I did since it was a bit of predictable but it was really a good read for me.

Thank you for reading up until here!

xo, Cath

 

 

8 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

  1. I just finished this book the other day! Katharine is my favourite as well. I believe she has so much potential, especially for the reveal at the ending I’m way too excited for her in the next book. I think she’ll finally rise to power.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s what I was thinking! I think it would be a snake, or perhaps an animal helped her crawl out of the pit? I’d love to see her take her revenge on everyone. I’m kinda scared for Pietyr, to be honest.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m also wondering if she figured it out as well that she and Arsinoe got mixed up. My guess is also that an animal help her crawl out of the pit. And oh my, Pietyr!! I was totally shipping them until she pushed her. Guess I’m shipping Arsinoe and Billy now. Haha!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes! I think he really genuinely liked Arsinoe at one point, and that he pushed her in cause he didn’t want her to suffer a worse death at the hand of her sisters or the priestesses?

        This switch is interesting though. My theory is someone had the midwife or whoever switch them up from the start so the other two would seem powerless, thus leading up to the “white handed queen”.

        Can I just say that Natalia reminds me so much of Cersei Lannister 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. It would have been better if they added the claiming of the three queens in the last parts of the book so that we could somehow see how it happened. It’s just such a long wait for the next book! I also envisioned Natalia to be Cersei Hahaha! Priestess Luca reminds me of Olenna Tyrell then Mirabella is Margaery. Haha

        Like

      5. I totally agree with the Game of Thrones characters! I hope they do flashbacks in the next book. Also excited to see how they’re gonna explain that they were switched up. I don’t think Natalia would warm up to Arsinoe on such a late notice.

        Like

Leave a Reply

