BOOK REVIEW: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

27362503ISBN13: 9781501110368
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication date: August 2, 2016
Format: Paperback
Pages: 384 pages

SYNOPSIS

Sometimes it is the one who loves you who hurts you the most.

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things

This is the perfect representation why I loved Colleen’s writing in the first place. This book reminded me why she was one of my favorite authors to begin with. If you haven’t read the book yet and you’re reading this, please stop now, because I wouldn’t be able to control my feelings after typing this paragraph. If you have read it already and you have already shed a tear or two, let us begin..


THIS FREAKING BOOK…

THIS FREAKING BOOK IS EVERYTHING. IT HIT CLOSE TO HOME. AND I COULD NOT EMPHASIZE HOW EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK.

I finished this book in a day because it was really hard to put down. I need to know what would happen next! To be honest, I kinda stopped reading CoHo’s works because I felt like it was not my cup of tea anymore. But when I saw the cover of It Ends With Us last year I fell in love and told myself maybe this was the book that would make me read her books again. And it freaking did. It also broke my heart and made me cry so hello again my dear Colleen. Thank you for breaking my heart and making me fall in love with your works again.

I read this without even reading the synopsis, I didn’t know what it is all about or what would the topic be. I just know that the cover is gorgeous and I must read it! Plus I saw this quote:

“In the future . . . if by some miracle you ever find yourself in the position to fall in love again . . . fall in love with me.”

I’m a sucker for these kind of quotes. I think half of my TBR books are from their quotes which I see on Instagram, Goodreads, Pinterest, etc. If it interests me, I would read that book.

Anyway this book follows the life of Lily Blossom Bloom. Yes, what a cute name right? But of course, don’t let that pretty little sunshine of a name fool you. Lily’s life was tough. She grew up in an abusive household. She would see her father beat up her mother every time he was in a bad mood or something made him tick. All her life, Lily kept asking herself why would her mother stay in that kind of relationship. She kind of hated her mother for not being strong enough to leave her father. But throughout the story she would know the reason.

Lily is now based in Boston and after her father’s funeral while she was releasing her feelings from a building’s rooftop she met Ryle. Without knowing Ryle’s backstory yet. I loved this scene because they were giving each other “naked truths” and I really liked that concept in the book. Being vulnerable with someone you barely know is somehow very liberating it’s like letting other people know your inner demons. It was such a raw encounter and I loved it!

I also loved how the other characters made the book so much more than it is already. I loved Alyssa, she was the perfect friend for Lily. I loved how their friendship is something that you would want for yourself. I very much enjoyed the scene where they were talking about how rich Alyssa and Marshall are. And when Lily asked about things like grocery shopping, food preparations, and other things, Alyssa will only say “we have people for that.” And it was just so funny and it made me want to have an Alyssa in my life too! We would Pinterest together!

Of course we also need to talk about the two men in Lily’s life right? Atlas and Ryle. At first, I was swooning for Ryle because he was built up perfectly. You know the usual guys that you would see in this kind of novels. Broken but hard to resist. Yup, that was Ryle. Atlas on the other hand is also like that! I was rooting for Ryle & Lily’s relationship. I wanted it to work out  but when he first hit her? I want Lily to be out of that relationship immediately. When someone hits you, you don’t stay. You get up your ass and leave because one way or another it’s going to happen again.

When she met Atlas again, I just knew he was the right one for her. And I also knew that Atlas was still inside her system. She was still reading the journals she wrote about him (which is also cute because they were all addressed to Ellen.), she still have the magnet, plus the tattoo. It was very clear that Atlas was still living inside of her.

If I try to recount all the details of this book I would have a very long review about it and this is already long so I would cut it short. You don’t need to relate to the character to read this. This is just not for the people who have been in the same position as Lily and Lily’s mother. This is for everyone. This is to make people understand what is happening in this kind of situation. And why “just leave them if they hurt you” is hard to do.

I was very fortunate to be able to leave that kind of relationship before. And I hope people would have the courage to do it also.

Be brave and bold. It needs to end. 

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

