BOOK REVIEW: A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin (ASOIAF #1)

11264999Publisher: Bantam
Publication date: March 4, 2011(first published August 6th 1996)
Format: MMPB
Pages: 835 pages

SYNOPSIS

In a land where summers can last decades and winters a lifetime, trouble is brewing. The cold is returning, and in the frozen wastes of the north of Winterfell, sinister and supernatural forces are massing beyond the kingdom’s protective Wall. At the center of the conflict lie the Starks of Winterfell, a family as harsh and unyielding as the land they were born to. Sweeping from a land of brutal cold to a distant summertime kingdom of epicurean plenty, here is a tale of lords and ladies, soldiers and sorcerers, assassins and bastards, who come together in a time of grim omens. Amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror, the fate of the Starks, their allies, and their enemies hangs perilously in the balance, as each endeavors to win that deadliest of conflicts: the game of thrones.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armor yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.

I have never enjoyed a fantasy book until I have read this book. Fantasy was never my cup of tea because I couldn’t get myself into it. I tend to not finish the book because I always get distracted or bored while reading it but A Game of Thrones changed that.

I’m a huge fan of the TV Series, so when my friends decided to read the first book this year, I told myself that maybe I should also give it a try. And I’m so happy that I did! I was so hooked by the writing! I would never expect that I would be able to love it. It was everything I didn’t like in a book – it was in the fantasy genre, told in multiple POVS, Third person narration, 835 pages, part of a series. But I found myself reading it more and more and it felt like I was watching the first season again. I love everything about it, I love how it made me reach out for it in the mornings, I didn’t even bother to check my phone for messages. That’s how much I enjoyed it!

Considering that it was 835 pages long, I managed to read it in 5 days. That was a brand new record for me! I read 200 pages per day and sometimes I also read about 20 pages in the evening. But, I’m just glad that I was able to finish it.

Of course there were scenes in the book that was cut-off in the series. But nonetheless, the first season really did go by the book. Everything was there! I still found myself teary-eyed when I read about Lady. I still hate Joffrey and I dislike Sansa also in this book. I still remember how crazy she is for Joff. But I enjoyed Tyrion, Arya, Jon and Dany’s POV. It was refreshing to know more about them in the book.

I’m picking up the second book this weekend! I’ll still do 200 pages per day so that I wouldn’t really get overwhelmed while reading it.

If you want to read ASOIAF, I suggest you do! You would enjoy it!

xo, Cath

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin (ASOIAF #1)

Leave a Reply

