BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

17927395ISBN13: 9781408857885
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books
Publication date: May 3, 2016
Format: Paperback
Pages: 624 pages

SYNOPSIS

Feyre is immortal.

After rescuing her lover Tamlin from a wicked Faerie Queen, she returns to the Spring Court possessing the powers of the High Fae. But Feyre cannot forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people – nor the bargain she made with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court.

As Feyre is drawn ever deeper into Rhysand’s dark web of politics and passion, war is looming and an evil far greater than any queen threatens to destroy everything Feyre has fought for. She must confront her past, embrace her gifts and decide her fate.

She must surrender her heart to heal a world torn in two

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

“To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys.”
“To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”

No words for this book. No words. i just love this book! This was the reason why I read A Court of Thorns and Roses. When my very good friend Elena told me that the second book of ACOTAR will be a retelling of the famous Hades & Persephone story, I knew that I have to read it. And that started it all! That’s how I ended up being so invested in this fandom.

So anyway, let’s just get to the review part of this book! Since I read ACOTAR a few days before ACOMAF was release, I had no problem of remembering the key things. ACOMAF started slow but oh my cauldron it was everything I hoped for. (If you are shipping this particular character, you will understand me!)

What I liked about this book is that it really didn’t revolve around the romance between Rhysand and Feyre. I mean yes it was there but we could just see a lot of things too. I know that I wanted to see the romance between the two of them but I was happy to know that it didn’t happen quite easily. Feyre needed to fix herself first before she could fall in love again.

I also liked Feyre’s growth in this book. After all the things that happened to her under the mountain we really can’t blame her if her dreams and aspirations change. I liked how she became stronger in this book.

Through out the book we’ll get to meet Rhysand’s inner circle which I absolutely love! They were the kind of friends that you would really want for yourself. They were supportive, caring and if shit goes down they would be there in a heartbeat. I love how each individuals are very unique and the love and respect they have for each other makes you want to be in that circle. I’m glad Feyre was in that because I think that really helped her healing. I think my favorite from Rhys’ friends is Amren, I love how mysterious she is. But I also like Cassian, Mor and Azriel.

As for Rhysand’s character. Oh my stars! I cannot. I might sound bias because I’ve been #TeamRhysand ever since ACOTAR. But, I saw a lot more or Rhys’ character here. Rhysand is, despite being the bad boy in the first book, is selfless. He was everything that Tamlin wasn’t. He didn’t saw Feyre as a trophy but he saw her as his equal.  And, I love that about him. I also love how he protects his people and of course his friends.

As for Tamlin’s character. Ugh I cannot. I’m just over you. What happened under the mountain was the deal breaker.

Overall the book was everything and more that I expected. The scenes with the Bone Carver and the Weaver were part of my favorites. I also loved Rhys and Feyre’s cabin scene, the starfall festival, and a lot more! This book didn’t disappoint me because my ship freaking sailed!

The ending on the other hand was something else – it was not a cliff hanger but that was just cruel. A YEAR IS FAR TOO LONG, SARAH, A FAR TOO LONG! Let’s just pray that the third book would be even more exciting!

 

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

