BOOK REVIEW: The Merciless by Danielle Vega

18667769ISBN13: 9781595147226
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication date: June 12, 2014
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 279 pages

SYNOPSIS

Brooklyn Stevens sits in a pool of her own blood, tied up and gagged. No one outside of these dank basement walls knows she’s here. No one can hear her scream.

Sofia Flores knows she shouldn’t have gotten involved. When she befriended Riley, Grace, and Alexis on her first day at school, she admired them, with their perfect hair and their good-girl ways. They said they wanted to save Brooklyn. They wanted to help her. Sofia didn’t realize they believed Brooklyn was possessed.

Now, Riley and the girls are performing an exorcism on Brooklyn—but their idea of an exorcism is closer to torture than salvation. All Sofia wants is to get out of this house. But there is no way out. Sofia can’t go against the other girls . . . unless she wants to be next. . . .

In this chilling debut, Danielle Vega delivers blood-curdling suspense and terror on every page. By the shockingly twisted end, readers will be faced with the most haunting question of all: Is there evil in all of us?

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


Forgive us, Father, for we have sinned

ACTUAL RATING: 2.5 stars

Buddy read this with my girl Elena because we wanted to see what the hype is all about. I got interested in this book because I watched and read some reviews that this book scared or disturbed them a lot. Since, this kind of genre is my cup of tea – I decided to read it also.

Upon reading the first few chapters, it really reminds of Mean Girls. Being that the atmosphere of it really resembles the movie. There was a representation of Cady Heron, Janus and even the Plastics. So basically this is a Mean Girls kind of story with a twist.

I read this because I want to be scared but it just didn’t hit that mark. Sure it had those parts where it felt creepy. Especially when they were doing the ritual but other than that. I really didn’t feel scared. I was not also that disturbed – I was just disgusted in some of the scenes because there were obscenities in this book. What I liked about it though is how the author describes the gore parts of it. It’s not that much but it was kind of a vivid description.

For the characters – they are all sick. They are really sick in their own way and hey had this confession part in the book where you would be able to see all of their dirty laundries. Which, I’m not surprised honestly.

The plot was very enticing at first but when it came in to the middle parts of the book it just became like an ordinary thriller. It only centered on what happened that night they were doing the rituals. From Chapter 10 to I think about till Chapter 25 it centered on the night they were torturing Brooklyn. There were scenes that I wished that could have been more shorter and there were scenes that I wished that would have been longer. I would have wanted to know Brooklyn more but I guess it’s not that important since this only centered on the ritual.

My final thoughts about The Merciless is that it was an okay book. From that pretty pink cover you wouldn’t really imagine that it would discuss this certain kind of topic. From the reviews that I read before – I think it was put in a light that I didn’t really see. They said it would scare or disturb the crap out of me but it really didn’t. Yes, there were disturbing parts but it really didn’t stick. At first, I thought why would it be classified in the YA horror genre. Now, I know why.

If you are a young adult reader who want to read something out of your comfort zone and you wanted to explore some thriller books maybe you could read this. It might have a different effect on you.

Like I said it was an okay book but I would probably read the second book which will be out on July 5, 2016. I hope that book is better than this one.

So that’s about it! If you ever read this novel let me know your thoughts! Until my next post!

xo, Cath

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: The Merciless by Danielle Vega

Leave a Reply

