BOOK REVIEW: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

30132961ISBN13: 9781481486071
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication date: May 3, 2016
Format: Paperback
Pages: 519 pages

SYNOPSIS

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks)

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing – if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


I could do this. If whole galaxies could change, so could I.

The Unexpected Everything is also an unexpected everything for me. I don’t really read a lot of YA Contemporaries anymore but there are times that you want something light and fluffy to read after and this book is an example of that. I’ve seen this on my Instagram feed and what first got me was its cover. There’s something about a retro cover that will instantly lure you to them. Of course, the retro vibe was not enough they have to put dogs in there too and that’s what really made me go – yaaas, I want that book.

This is one of those summer reads that you won’t forget. It is filled with humor, friendship, adventures, love, family and dogs. This is my first Morgan Matson book and I loved how she wrote this book. It started off a bit slow and it kinda took me two or three days to really reach 100 pages. I think she really build the atmosphere so that when you get passed the first hundred pages everything would go smoothly after. After I passed through that I was reading it non-stop I think the only time that I put down this book is when I check my social media then I immediately get back to reading it again. What I loved about this book is how Matson captured those magical summer nights where everything just breezes through.

Another thing that you would love about this book is that it doesn’t really revolve around a love interest. I mean, yes there is a love interest but it’s just not about that. I loved how it revolved around friends, family and commitment. I love Andie’s relatioship with her three girlfriends it was that kind of friendship that you also want to have for yourself. They are always there for you and they would help and support you in any way that they can. On family, I’m glad that Andie and her father had a realization about each other. And I loved how they bonded over movie marathons and pizza. I think that was what they needed all along – they just needed to bond more. On commitment, I also loved how she tried something out of her comfort zone. I loved how the dog walking job made her feel at peace and not worried for the whole summer.

As for her love interest, Clark is so adorable. He’s just so awkward but at the same time funny. They had a very odd first meeting but everything went great after that. Matson did well on developing Andie and Clark’s relationship and Im glad that it wasn’t insta-lovish. It gave a summer-love feeling but I’m glad that they just didn’t end up dating for the summer.

Overall this book was what I needed after a reading slump. I thought I would DNF this book because it’s hella thick and it was starting so slow! But, I’m glad that I really pushed myself in finishing this book.

[MILD SPOILER] The scavenger hunt that took place in the book was fun and Toby texting in just emojis was so damn hilarious. 

This book would give you everything you could hope for in a YA book. Falling in love, Falling for someone else, A feud with your best friends and a lot more! You should just read the book to know more about it!

Again, this is my first Morgan Matson book and I hope it wouldn’t be the last. I have Since You’ve Been Gone in the mail and I also hope I’ll enjoy that too. So until then, thank you for reading up until here and I hope you guys won’t run out of books to read.

Xo, Cath

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

  1. Great review! I also think that the scavenger hunt and Toby’s emojis were really fun. I agree that it slows down a bit sometimes and that the book, overall, was a bit longer than it could’ve been… but overall it was an enjoyable summer read.

    Also, I’ve read Since You’ve Been Gone and liked TUE better, but I hope you enjoy that one too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

