BOOK REVIEW: The Rose and The Dagger by Renee Ahdieh (The Wrath and The Dawn #2)

23308084ISBN13: 9780399171628
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication date: April 26, 2016
Format: Paperback
Pages: 420 pages

SYNOPSIS

In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad has been torn from the love of her husband Khalid, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once believed him a monster, but his secrets revealed a man tormented by guilt and a powerful curse—one that might keep them apart forever. Reunited with her family, who have taken refuge with enemies of Khalid, and Tariq, her childhood sweetheart, she should be happy. But Tariq now commands forces set on destroying Khalid’s empire. Shahrzad is almost a prisoner caught between loyalties to people she loves. But she refuses to be a pawn and devises a plan.

While her father, Jahandar, continues to play with magical forces he doesn’t yet understand, Shahrzad tries to uncover powers that may lie dormant within her. With the help of a tattered old carpet and a tempestuous but sage young man, Shahrzad will attempt to break the curse and reunite with her one true love.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


It was never about belonging to someone. It was belonging together.

ACTUAL RATING: 4.8/5 STARS

My The Wrath and The Dawn book review can be found here! 

This was one of my most anticipated reads for this year! So when I found it on my local bookstore I know I just have to go buy it. It was a good thing that I’ve just read The Wrath and The Dawn last March so I could still recall some of the scenes. This is the second and last book of this duology and this is the Bookish Pinoys book of the month. If you want to check this book club you could find us on Instagram (@bookishpinoys).

I abused my sticky markers while I reading this book. I used up one whole color since there are a lot of scenes and quotes that I wanted to mark so that I could remember them when I’m gathering my thoughts for my review. I rarely use sticky markers, I only use them if I really do like what I am reading. What I loved about The Rose and The Dagger is that it kind of explained some of the loose ends that were left in the first book and it did connect with the scenes and there were a bit more understanding about it.

Unlike the first book, this one is less on the romance side, but don’t worry there are scenes that you would still swoon over Khalid and Shazi. But of course, there are more important things to do and that is breaking the curse and saving their kingdom.

This book is a rollercoaster ride because there were relationships and friendships that had been tested. There were betrayals and surprises that you wouldn’t have imagined – a lot has been discovered while we know more about Khalid’s curse. This book had a very nice pacing, there were no dull moments and you just kind of breeze through the pages.

All in all, this book was a great sequel but there was still some loose ends in this final book. There are scenes that I wish that it could have been more than a few pages and there are also scenes that I wanted more explanation. But I loved the transformation of Khalid and Shazi in this book – they were both more matured and wise here and I think that helped a lot in what was happening in their kingdom. But the biggest transformation here has been Irsa. From a girl who was not comfortable with her own abilities to a girl who was able to overcome her fears was very impressive.[MILD SPOILER] I loved the scene where she shouted at Khalid and Khalid just simply comply with her wishes. [MILD SPOILER] 

This novel ended well for me especially with that epilogue. I think that was what saved me from giving this book a low rating. It was a good sequel, flawed in some way, but still it was the sequel that you would want after reading The Wrath and The Dawn.

If you haven’t picked up this book or the first book – I hope you will soon! It was a great journey, I definitely would miss Khalid and Shazi. I hope Renee Ahdieh would write more stories like this. Thank you again for reading up until here! Until then!

Xo, Cath

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: The Rose and The Dagger by Renee Ahdieh (The Wrath and The Dawn #2)

  1. This was one of my most anticipated releases this year too! I definitely agree that the romance takes a bit of a backseat (though that’s not necessarily a bad thing) and that both characters have matured quite a bit. It’s certainly flawed like you said, but it’s quite a solid sequel. Great review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

