BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824ISBN13: 9781619635180
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children
Publication date: September 1, 1990
Format: Paperback
Pages: 448 pages

SYNOPSIS

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


We need hope, or else we cannot endure.

I never knew that I would enjoy this book so much. I was really hesitant to read it at first because of the hype and how I really didn’t like Maas’ writing style. But, this just proves that everything deserves a second chance.

I started reading this last Friday because I had a 4 hour long break and to keep myself busy I decided to read this. I had this on my iBooks a few months back because my friend kept telling me to just read it because she knows I’ll love it. But, I kept on putting it off. And, when I finally read it. My dear stars, I couldn’t put it down. This was the first time this year that I didn’t have the urge to put down the book. I just want to keep on reading until I reach the end. The book started out slow though. There were times that I want to speed up some scenes but all through out, I loved the reading experience.

For someone who doesn’t read a lot of fantasy novels. A Court of Thorns and Roses didn’t disappoint. I love the world building because it was really descriptive and you could really feel the atmosphere that it wants to convey. As I said earlier, there were parts that came as slow but I think it was relevant in the story and it didn’t act like fillers.

As for the characters, I love all of them! I loved Feyre’s character because she has this kind of spunk and she wasn’t a damsel in distress type of a character. And then, Tamlin and Lucian! Oh my stars! They are both swoon-worthy and funny and I loved how they also protect each other and Feyre. But of course, my heart is for Rhysand. I found Tamlin sweet but there was really something about Rhysand and I hope I’ll get to know more of him on the second book.

I’m so happy that the second book will be out today and I can’t wait to be reunited with Rhysand. To be honest, I also decided to read Acotar because I heard that Acomaf is going to be a retelling of Hades and Persephone which you know I love. So, I hope my copy arrives today or tomorrow!

If you haven’t read this book yet please do give it a try! It was worth the hype, that I can say. For the ones who have read it, are you #TeamTamlin or #TeamRhysand? Haha!

Thank you for reading until here! Until then! Have a good day and I hope you won’t run out of books to read!

xo, Cath

5 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

