BOOK REVIEW: The Lottery by Shirley Jackson

6219656ISBN13:9781563127878
Publisher: Perfection Learning
Publication date: September 1, 1990
Format: Paperback
Pages: 30 pages

SYNOPSIS

Shirley Jackson’s The Lottery is a memorable and terrifying masterpiece, fueled by a tension that creeps up on you slowly without any clear indication of why. This is just a townful of people, after all, choosing their numbers for the annual lottery. What’s there to be scared of?

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


It isn’t fair, it isn’t right.

Actual Rating: 3.5/5

I really don’t know how to write a review for this short story because it was kind of a weird experience. Personally, I do love a good classic horror book. But this one, left me asking myself, “why did I read this”?

The story talks about a lottery which every person in a village attends. They have this box which have pieces of paper in it. At first, you would feel like it’s nothing since the first few pages were just about preparing for the lottery. But when you come to the last parts of the book, that is where you question why you read this? To be honest, it is what it is. I was really waiting for a twist in the story, but I wouldn’t imagine that kind of twist. It will confused you since the tone of the story would let you conclude your own twist. I’m just glad my guess was not the ending that I was hoping for. I wanted more of it because it was so well-written and I find the ending abrupt. But, maybe that was the magic of the book. That was how the book wants to make you feel.

Even though the book is unprecise, I did really enjoy it. It would really keep you thinking that it could still happen. There were traditions that people would gladly still do without questioning them. And that is scary. What’s even more scary is that they let high school students read this.

If you haven’t read this book, please do. You can read it under 10 minutes. Thank you fro reading up until here! Until then!

xo, Cath

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: The Lottery by Shirley Jackson

Leave a Reply

