BOOK REVIEW: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

29145429ISBN13: 9781509820832
Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books
Publication date: March 3, 2016 (World Book Day Edition)
Format: Paperback
Pages: 62 pages

SYNOPSIS

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does.

What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.

Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 8.28.48 AM
Instagram: @magicathreads

When I first saw Kindred spirits a few months ago. It didn’t really piqued my interest. To be honest, I don’t really read a lot of Rainbow Rowell books because her books are always in third person point of views. And by now, you might already know that I’m not really a fan of that. But while I was scrolling around Instagram, I came across a person selling a copy. I wanted to try her again so I think this is the perfect book.

In this story, we follow Elena who is waiting in line with two other persons to watch the new Star Wars movie. Even though it was set to open three more days she camp-out so that she’ll be one of the first few people who will see the movie.

Through out the story, we see how she builds a connection with the two other persons in line and how she also realizes something about herself. I think for a short book it really went well considering the plot tackles about family and friends. The humor and love that Rainbow captures in this book is great. There were scenes that made me laugh and warm inside. And I think that is why Rainbow is a favorite in the bookish community, she delivers all types of feelings in a book.

I really do hope that I would read another Rainbow Rowell book. The only RR book that I’ve finished is Landline because I think it was more suited for me. But, I would try to finish another one, maybe Fangirl will go up in my tbr list.

Thank you for reading up until here! Until then!

xo Cath

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

