BOOK REVIEW: JANE EYRE BY CHARLOTTE BRONTE

24493738ISBN13: 9781784870737
Publisher: Vintage Classics
Publication date: November 5, 2015
Format: Paperback
Pages: 651 pages

SYNOPSIS

As an orphan, Jane’s childhood is full of trouble, but her stubborn independence and sense of self help her to steer through the miseries inflicted by cruel relatives and a brutal school. A position as governess at the Thornfield Hall promises a kind of freedom. But Thornfield is a house full of secrets, its master a passionate, tormented man, and before long Jane faces her greatest struggle in a choice between love and self-respect.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


Do you think because I am poor, obscure, plain, and little, I am soulless and heartless?

(This review has mild spoilers.)

This is my very first Bronte Sisters novel and I’m glad that I started with this book. It was very fulfilling that I got to finish this book in a short amount of time. My friends and I are supposed to read this book for the whole year because we all agreed we will read at least one classic per year and giving us the whole year to finish this book is very doable. I read this in a span of four days and I actually felt connected with the characters.

Jane Eyre is told in a first person point of view which I really do like because it’s hard for me to read something in third person point of view because I tend to get distracted a lot. The first book in Jane Eyre was told in her childhood years and this was the one that sucked me a lot. I was so sad while reading these 10 chapters because it was so heartbreaking to see her suffer like that. The abuse that she got from her Aunt and John was really intense. I’m glad that her Aunt sent her to school she was treated a little better there and I was glad that she turned out stronger than before.

The second book on the other hand is were I abused my tags already. There were a lot of events that I really want to get back through. Especially pages where Jane and Mr. Rochester are having a conversation. What I liked about this novel is that you go with Jane’s realization for her love for Mr. Rochester. Everything was not easy of course since she doesn’t have anything to offer him but after a few events I’m glad it all fell in to place. There are more trials in the second book and there were revelations that you won’t guess that will happen. I loved how Jane handled it because if you were to pick from love and self-respect, I would always choose the latter. No one should ever have to give up their self-respect just to be with someone. She loved Mr. Rochester but she loved herself more.

I really enjoyed this book even though there were phrases and scenes that weren’t necessary and there are a few pages that were boring that I just started to skim them until I get to the next chapter. But, overall it was a good read. I especially loved the ending when Jane and Mr. Rochester finally got back together. It was really a reminder that not all happy endings have really good endings. But, everything was all worth the pain and struggle.

I hope you get to read this book too. It’s very easy to read and I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did. As always, thank you for reading up until here!Have a good day and I hope you won’t run out of books to read!

xo Cath

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: JANE EYRE BY CHARLOTTE BRONTE

Leave a Reply

