MARCH WRAP-UP 2016

Hey guys! We’ve reached the end of the month again and before we start a new reading list. Let us look back on what we have accomplished this month!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This month has been a great month for my reading challenge because I’ve managed to read 8 books. I read a lot this month because well my schedule was a bit lighter and my book club hosted a reading challenge wherein we have 7 prompts. And bless my little reading heart because I’ve finished all 7 of them! I have yet to upload my other book talks about them but they’ll be posted here soon!

So now for the wrap-up! I have a total of 12 books this month! I bought 9 of them and 3 of them were gifts. I keep on failing my 5 books per month promise. So for April, I won’t promise anything anymore. lol. I just hope I won’t go bonkers when I visit Fullybooked.

BOOKS I’VE PURCHASED: 

  • Classic Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen
  • Grimm’s Complete Fairy tales by The Brother’s Grimm
  • Habang Wala Pa Sila by Juan Miguel Severo
  • Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
  • The Distance Between Us by Kasie West
  • The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan
  • The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan
  • The Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan
  • The Lord of the Rings + Hobbit boxed set by J.R.R. Tolkien

My favorite purchases for this month are the leather-bounds which I bought from my good friend Ate Gieliza, these were her extra leather-bounds and when she told us she was selling each for 1000php I immediately told her that I’ll buy them. Another favorite is my Tolkien Set. I have been eyeing this set since 2014 I think? It was always out of stock in our local book store so when I saw it near the counter last March, I immediately grab it. And last but not the least, my Throne of Fire trilogy by Rick Riordan. I was really eager to read this series because if I’m not mistaken these books are all about Egyptian Gods(?), so when I saw the three books in a secondhand bookstore. I bought it all at once. Plus the third book which is The Serpent’s Shadow is a numbered collector’s edition! I got each book for 145php only! That’s a very good deal so I was really happy about it.

BOOKS THAT WERE GIVEN TO ME:  

  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (Ate Eunice)
  • Fast Track by Julie Garwood (Ate Gieliza)
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (Boyfriend)

I’ve already read Gone Girl before and I gave my Flynn books to Ate Gie two years ago because I wanted to buy the trade paperback copies. But, when I saw the prices of the Flynn boxed set, I just resolve to buying the mmpbs again. So when Ate Eunice said that she’s giving away her Gone Girl copy I asked if I can have it. And she agreed! And, I’m a huge Julie Garwood fan and I was really meaning to buy Fast Track but again I’m being a cheap skate because I don’t want to buy the 399php mmpb copy in our local bookstore. So, I keep on putting it off. But, Ate Gie found a hardbound copy for 99php and she gave it to me! She was the one who introduced Julie Garwood to me and I’m so happy that I’m just missing two books in her FBI Agents collection! And lastly of course, my Alice in Wonderland given by Joshua. It became a monthly routine for us that he’ll buy me something and I’ll buy him something. So for this month, he bought me another Alice in Wonderland book for my collection. My collection has been growing lately since my cousins has been helping me also. They bought me coloring books and notepads which are all Alice related. I’m always thankful for all the supportive people in my life. ❤

BOOKS I’VE READ THIS MONTH:
(Reviews are already here in my blog)

  • The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien – 5/5 stars
  • Seduce Me at Sunrise by Lisa Kleypas – 5/5stars
  • The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh – 5/5stars
  • Mine Till Midnight by Lisa Kleypas – 5/5 stars
  • The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – 3/5 stars
  • The BFG by Roald Dahl – 5/5 stars (Review to come.)
  • The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman – 4/5 stars (Review to come.)
  • Asylum by Antoinnete de Beauvoir – 3/5 stars (Review to come.)


BLOG HIGHLIGHT

This is a new topic here in my blog wherein I’ll show you guys some of my favorite things that I acquired this month! It may or may not be book related but of course, knowing me, it would be book related. Lol. So for this month’s blog highlight it will be these Alice in Wonderland stickers that the boyfriend got me! He had someone made this stickers for me and I just want to put them everywhere!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Aren’t they so cute? My personal favorites are the Alice with the frame and Down the rabbit hole. Thank you again Josh for all of this!



AND OF COURSE, DON’T FORGET MY GIVEAWAY!

WIN A COPY OF GILLIAN FLYNN’S THE GROWN UP! CLICK THE PICTURE BELOW TO FIND OUT MORE ABOUT IT! 

Giveaway


And that’s my March Wrap-up! I hope you also had a great month! Till my next wrap! Have a good day and I hope you won’t run out of books to read!

Byeeee! xo Cath

4 thoughts on “MARCH WRAP-UP 2016

  1. Wow. 8 Books is a lot! I only managed to read three. :/

    Hope you’ll enjoy your new books. I love Rick Riordan, but haven’t had the chance to read his new series. Also Eleanor & Park will be a great read, hope you’ll like it, too!
    That’s such a lovely Box Set of Tolkien’s books! *.*

    That’s so sweet of your boyfriend. Those stickers are so lovely!

    Have a look at my March Wrap Up @ Swissbookworm

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

