BOOK RECOMMENDATIONS + GIVEAWAY!(CLOSED)

Hey guys! Happy Monday! How are you all doing? I know we all share that dreaded Monday blues because our long vacation had finally ended! It was gone too fast! But of course, we knew that last week was a week for penance. And, I hope the holy week did us good. So since, it’s a start of a new week! How about we start some recommendations? The aim of my blog is wanting to share or recommend my favorite books to you guys. I do really hope that some of you had picked up a book because I recommend it or I gave a good review of it. And if you had already done that. Then yay! you made me happy!

So enough of the chitchat! Here are some of my bookish recommendations! 

IMG_2072

(I’m sorry. I’ve been loving my Instagram theme lately. The map really adds color to my photos. *hides*)

First up is! I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson! I read this last year and it’s my favorite book up until today. I don’t know if you have read anything by Jandy Nelson yet. But if you haven’t, I suggest that you start with reading this book. What I love about this book is even though there are two point of views and even though they are happening in a different time period. You would still be able to grasp it and connect with Jude and Noah. Also, it just doesn’t tackle about family or love or friends. It’s also about pushing yourself further, grief, art and many more. This book was what I needed last year. You might get a little confused on the “picture this” points of the book because it’s kind of weird but I think if you’ll get the paperback copy it has illustrations (?) I really don’t know. But yeah, give this book a try!

Next up is The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski! I don’t read a lot of dystopian YA novels because I feel like that the atmosphere is the same every book. I bought this book out of impulse because I’m a sucker for girls wearing gowns on the cover. I thought this book will be the usual damsel-in-distress kind of a main character. But, of course, I was wrong! This book has a badass MC and the love interest is not your typical boy. I also loved how it was not insta-lovish and it really took time to develop. Also, there are action-packed scenes that will keep you reading until you’re on the last page. This is a trilogy by the way and the last book was released two days ago.

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall is a hilarious books. Do you ever feel that you are in need of a light and fluffy book but you don’t know what to pick up? Well, I’ll recommend this book. It has 14 different POVs BUT it totally works! Basically this book is about having two people see that they are meant for each other. It’s really funny considering there is also a POV of a squirrel and a bench. So if you want an easy read, try picking this up!

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath is in my to read books before I die. It didn’t disappoint and it was all I ever wanted. It was raw and it didn’t sugar coat anything about the illness. I just read this last month and it still left me feeling a little empty inside whenever I think of it. I will not classify this book as a light read because I want you guys to understand what the books wants to convey. So if you want to learn about a certain kind of mental illness, pick this book up!

The One That Got Away by Bethany Chase is a cover buy book. Yes, also bought it out of impulse. But thank the stars because I actually liked it. This is a second-chance of romance kind of a book. And I liked it because well the MC is an architect and I love the architectural references it has. It’s a light book and it didn’t just circle around romances. This is a heartwarming novel and of course it will take you back to your “what if” moments. Also, I got this book because of this line!

Every woman has one. That name you Google in two o’clock in the morning.

If you have been following me on Instagram you would know that I LOVE GREEK RETELLINGS. And to be more specific, I LOVE PERSEPHONE RETELLINGS. My Ex From Hell by Tellulah Darling is a Persephone retelling. It’s a funny book with a lot of sassy-ness. I love how the author turned this retelling in to a YA context. Personally, I just loved the first and second book. The last book was kind of “meh” but yeah it was a fun read.

All The Truth in Me by Julie Berry is a powerful read because it’s about a girl who lost her voice in their society. This is a mystery-thriller book and there were a lot of puzzle that needs answering but don’t worry it will all get answered in the last pages.

The Girl From The Well by Rin Chupeco. The Grudge + The Exorcist + The Ring combined. Plus, you may or may not have creepy encounter/s after you read this book! Awesome right? Now, go read it! ❤

The Selection by Kiera Cass. Why is it in here? Because I love princess stories. Please don’t judge me for that. *hides* But, this book will make you keep on reading until the last book. I dislike the MC because she is so indecisive and whiny and everything. She is just a pain to read but I can’t stop reading. I won’t push you to read this BUT princesses! I know you dreamed of being one too. SO READ IT. Hihihihi

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine. Imagine a life where you can’t own books. And the government which is the library will dictate what you can or can not read. Yes, this is a book lovers nightmare. You’ll enjoy this!

And finally, Suddenly Royal by Nichole Chase. It’s just like The Princess Diaries but compressed in to one novel. I’m really a sucker for royal-themed books, But this an easy ready and you’ll love Samantha. If you want to read a princess-typed of book but you don’t want to read The Selection Series. Read this instead.

And that concludes my recommendations for today! I may do it again but I don’t want to set a day for it because I suck at keeping a schedule. But, I’ll definitely do it again soon!


 

AND NOW, YOUR MOST AWAITED PART OF THIS POST!

I’M GIVING AWAY A COPY OF GILLIAN FLYNN’S LATEST WORK!

IMG_2076

I enjoyed this book. My friends enjoyed this book. And I hope you will too!

The mechanics are very simple:

  1. Just comment down below a book you would recommend and your Instagram name and you are now in for this giveaway!

(If you haven’t found me on Instagram, I’m @magicathreads there! You could also follow me there!)


 

AND THE WINNER IS _JEMREADS!

THANK YOU ALL OF YOU FOR JOINING  THIS LITTLE GIVEAWAY!

xo, Cath

(This giveaway is not in anyway affiliated with WordPress or Instagram.)

22 thoughts on “BOOK RECOMMENDATIONS + GIVEAWAY!(CLOSED)

  1. I’ve been wanting to read Me Ex From Hell for quite some now, and The Bell Jar is on my to be read next (After I get over with this slump and anime binge) I recommend The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson, Hold Still by Nina LaCour. – @coffeeinkedtales

    Like

  2. I’ve always wanted to read Jandy Nelson’s books, but it seems that I never have time to pick it up. Hopefully, I will be able to read The Sky is Everywhere and I’ll Give You the Sun.

    My “go to” books whenever somebody asks me for recs are The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta and Flat-Out Love by Jessica Park. I just love these books to death. Also, books by Colleen Hoover are wonderful, November 9 being my favorite, followed by Maybe Someday. I also read The Rose Society by Marie Lu a few months ago, and I was blown away by it. So, obviously I recommend that, too. But it’s the second book in the trilogy, so you have to get your hands on The Young Elites first (which is also a great book). Although, I would have to warn you that the trilogy is kind of a “hit or miss” book for a lot of readers – either you really like it, or you just don’t. 😊 (IG: @helloteepee)

    Like

  3. If you love princesses, then you should definitely try reading The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani. It’s a middle grade book.😊

    IG: @unfoldigpages

    Like

  4. Loving your new theme on instagram. The map thingy is so awesome! Thank you for the recommendations. I’ll read I’ll Give You The Sun next month and I’m so excited for it as I’ve heard so many good things about it, plus your rec and it’s a fave book of yours. That’s going to be amazing! I recommend Wonder by RJ Palacio. It’s a middle grade novel. Very inspiring and touching. And I read Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and it was a mind-blowing read! @wishiwasabook on instagram! Thank you Cath for the giveaway!

    Like

  5. I’ll give you the sun is one of my favorite books ever. And I do recommend another favorite of mine : Stolen by Lucy Christopher ❤️ @bibliophilemusings on ig ☺️
    I’ll surely try your other recommendations!

    Like

  6. I’ll Give You The Sun is one of my favorite books. I want to recommend another favorite of mine: Stolen by Lucy Christopher ❤️ @bibliophilemusings on ig.
    I’ll give your other recommendations a try☺️ thanks for this giveaway!

    Like

  7. Now that I’ve heard your thoughts about I’ll Give You The Sun and The Bell Jar it’s now on my top tbr list. Thank you for recommending books, and also for the opportunity to win and to have The Grownup. I recommend Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (if you haven’t read this one, read) and Soulmates by Holly Bourne. I really enjoy reading these books and I hope you’ll enjoy and love reading these books like the way I do. – @shabibliophile

    Like

  8. Omg! I do love princess too. And The Selection series is one of my fave. I know alot don’t like it but, gee, the book is such a page turner. Lol I just finished reading Soulmates by Holly Bourne and I do recommend it. If you’re into YA starcrossed story that story is for you. 😉 @_jemreads on IG.

    Like

  9. I really want to read The One That Got Away ever since you posted that line on your IG, Ate Cath! 😊 But I’m still prioritizing my eARCs 😭 I recommend that you read Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher. It’s a cry-worthy YA book. I promise you won’t be the same after reading it. 😊 If you want a Middle Grade book that will make you suffer then I highly suggest My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece by the same author. Annabel Pitcher is like the queen of cry-worthy books. It’s MG but it’s still a lot like YA because the protagonist is mature yet innocent at the same time. 😊 Just talking about those books makes me want to read it again!

    IG: @thebookishangel

    Like

  10. I hope you can finish the Harry Potter aeries now!! 😊😊😊 I sooo love love love Harry Potter. Do tell me if you finish reading the 7th book and you can share all the “feels” with me 😋😊😊 my instagram is @crimson.tales 🙂

    Like

  11. I have been wanting to read I’ll Give You The Sun but there are no copies available here. *sighs
    I recommend Crewel World trilogy by Gennifer Albin! This is like a ya-dystopian/sci-fi but it’s concept is totally unique! This series deserves some hype!

    Like

  12. I really want the The Selection & Sunddenly Royal.I just love princess stories or royal stories. I’ve been dreaming that books too much.Since I just finished reading The Siren I recommend it to you. 😄😁

    Like

  13. I have a copy of I’ll Give You the Sun, maybe I’ll read it after I finish The Girl on the Train. I recommend Uprooted by Naomi Novick. 🙂

    IG: cathnisss

    Like

  14. I’ve been eyeing Jandy Nelson’s I’ll Give You the Sun for so long and I’ve wanted to read any Slyvia Plath works but then I don’t have their books just yet. 🙂
    .
    .
    Anyway, if you haven’t read yet the Slammed series by Colleen Hoover, then I recommend that one to you. I am @annielarosaroja on IG/bookstagram.

    Like

  15. If it’s a book(s) to be recommended I think it would be the Thoughtless series by SC Stephens if you haven’t tried reading it. And also if you love…if and only if…Nancy Drew you could also give Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter a go. 😉
    Insta: @gelly_jake
    Thanks for the chance!

    Like

  16. If you havent read We Were Liars yet, you should. I always see it on every book store and thought maybe its just another chick flick thing. I regret not reading it sooner. I only borrowed a copy, though. I loved it!
    My IG is @annlikestoread 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

