BOOK REVIEW: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

23432822ISBN13: 9780544445796
Publisher: Houghton Miffin Harcourt Publishing Company
Publication date: October 21, 2014
Format: Leatherbound
Pages: 300 pages

SYNOPSIS

“If you care for journeys there and back, out of the comfortable Western world, over the edge of the Wild, and home again, and can take an interest in a humble hero (blessed with a little wisdom and a little courage and considerable good luck), here is a record of such a journey and such a traveler. The period is the ancient time between the age of Faerie and the dominion of men, when the famous forest of Mirkwood was still standing, and the mountains were full of danger. In following the path of this humble adventurer, you will learn by the way (as he did) – if you do not already know all about these things – much about trolls, goblins, dwarves, and elves, and get some glimpses into the history and politics of a neglected but important period.”

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


There is nothing like looking, if you want to find something. You certainly usually find something, if you look, but it is not always quite the something you were after.

To be perfectly honest, if I hadn’t bought the leatherette boxed set of this. I wouldn’t imagine myself reading this. But, thank the stars that I really pushed myself in buying and reading this because I think this is what I missed in my childhood! I wanted to get to know the Middle-earth realm because my friends were talking about it and they all loved it so I told myself that okay maybe I should really give it a try. I chose The Hobbit because it’s categorized in the Young Adult genre. So, maybe my attention span can handle reading this. If you must now, I rarely read high-fantasy novels because I get easily distracted. In all honesty, I read this for a week because I’m also side-reading another book.

Anyway, when I finally finished reading this yesterday. I felt accomplished! My mom is not a fan of the Lord of the Rings installment. So, when I told her that I’m reading this she was like”really, kid? really?” Hahaha! But I told her that she needs to read it too because it is so good! I love the characters! Especially Bilbo Baggins. I think we could all see ourselves in him. We are always inside our little “hobbit-hole” and even though we are feeling very comfortable there. We still crave for new things and adventure. But of course, we are too scared to try. Luckily, our little Bilbo pushed himself into that adventure of a lifetime and he’s very fortunate to go back a different person.

This book is everything a young adult should read. I really regret that it took me this long to finally read this. I’m turning 23 this year but I’ll always remember what this book taught me. And maybe when I would want to try something new but I’m to scared to do so. I’ll just ask myself, what will Bilbo Baggins do? lol. I might just make eggs and bacon! Haha!

And oh, aside from Mr. Baggins, I also loved Fili and Kili! And the last chapters broke my heart. </3

I hope you guys will be able to read this book too! You won’t regret it! ❤

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

  1. I have been meaning to read this book for years now and every time I have free time, I always pick up new books. I loved the movies of this one and okay, I promise to make time to read this book this year seeing that you have really loved it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

