BOOK REVIEW: The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

25460957ISBN13: 9780399171611
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Book for Young Readers
Publication date: May 12, 2015
Format: Paperback
Pages: 404 pages

SYNOPSIS

One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


I love you, a thousand times over. And I will never apologize for it.

CAUTION: CONTAINS MILD SPOILERS.

The girls read this last year for our book club’s monthly readalong and I didn’t have the chance to read it with them because of my school works. I brought this with me last December 2015 but I also couldn’t get in to it because of the festivities. I keep on putting it off every time I’m bringing it with me. So this month, since there is also a retelling prompt from our read-athon I decided that this is now or never! And oh my stars! I’m so happy that I finished it because it was so so so good!

I hate that I need to wait until next month for the sequel but at least it’s just a month or so away! I love their story! I especially love the setting it reminds me of Muscat in some way and the atmosphere makes me feel like I’m also experiencing it. I don’t usually read books with third person point of view because it tends to take away my connection from the characters. But, this book changed it! I love how it makes me feel that someone is reading it to me and I didn’t lose connection to Shazi or Khalid.

The love story was pretty much insta-love in my part because one day Shazi despised Khalid and then all of a sudden she is falling head over heels for him without any supporting scenes. She keeps on fighting the feeling for Shiva but of course the heart wants what the heart wants. I keep on flipping through the back page because there are words that I need to know the meaning so that I could fully understand the scene. And of course, I’m such a hopeless romantic, I loved the word joonam. 

There were a lot of loose ends in this book. It would help if there is a back story regarding Shiva so that I could know where Shazi is coming from. Maybe, there should be at least a chapter that is about Shiva. And, I remember when Musa (Khalid’s tutor) told Shazi that she has this “gift”. After that scene, the gift was not expanded more. I was really hoping there would be a magic of some sort in the following chapters but like I said was not mentioned again.

I felt really sad when I’m almost at the end of the book. The revelations about the killing of Khalid’s wives were tragic and sad. And when Khalid finally knew what Shazi’s plan was before was really heartbreaking. But, the saddest part for me was the ending. I need Shazi to be with Khalid please! I do hope the second book will tie the lose ends here at book 1. Honestly, this is a very promising book and I’m happy that it’s only a duology. I’m looking forward to The Rose and The Dagger because I miss my Khalid!

And, if you haven’t seen it yet. The book is pushed a little earlier than expected! It would come out on April 26, 2016! Yay!

If you haven’t read this yet. Please, please, please read it! You won’t regret it!

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Leave a Reply

