BOOK REVIEW: Mine Till Midnight by Lisa Kleypas (The Hathaway’s #1)

693016ISBN13: 9780312949808
Publisher: St. Martin’s Paperback
Publication date: October 7, 2007
Format: Paperback
Pages: 376 pages

SYNOPSIS

When an unexpected inheritance elevates her family to the ranks of the aristocracy, Amelia Hathaway discovers that tending to her younger sisters and wayward brother was easy compared to navigating the intricacies of the ton. Even more challenging: the attraction she feels for the tall, dark, and dangerously handsome Cam Rohan.

Wealthy beyond most men’s dreams, Cam has tired of society’s petty restrictions and longs to return to his “uncivilized” Gypsy roots. When the delectable Amelia appeals to him for help, he intends to offer only friendship—but intentions are no match for the desire that blindsides them both. But can a man who spurns tradition be tempted into that most time-honored arrangement: marriage? Life in London society is about to get a whole lot hotter…

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


“Any man,” she muttered, “who wanted to marry into the Hathaway family after this should be shut away in an institution.”

“Marriage is an institution,” he said.”

This book is not what I’m expecting. I acquired this series I think two years ago because I saw a quote from the third installment of this series somewhere in the internet. And, it really caught my attention. So what does this girl do when a quote from a book caught her attention? Well, she buys that book of course! Not just that certain book! But, the whole series! You might think that I’m bonkers for buying the whole series but I think it was one of my best purchases to date.

I really want to start reading different genres and when my book club, Bookish Pinoys, started a read-athon on Instagram and historical fiction is one of the prompts, I know instantly that I’ll be picking up a Lisa Kleypas book. I just started it one and now I can’t get enough of it!

Mine Till Midnight is about the eldest Hathaway sister, Amelia, she is the second child of the bunch but she takes charge as the eldest sibling because their older brother, Leo, is a total wreck after a life-changing event. They have been living in London but after Leo’s escapade they decided that maybe a change of scenery will have a good benefit for them so they traveled to their estate in Hampshire to start again.

This book didn’t just focus on the romance side. Cam Rohan, Amelia’s love interest is such a swoon-worthy guy! I can’t stop myself from smiling whenever he comes across with Amelia because their scenes are just so fun to read because of Amelia’s stubbornness and Cam’s non-stop teasing. But, Cam is not a gentleman, he’s part Roma or Gypsy. These gypsies are look down by society so when you are associated with one people would have something to say. But of course, The Hathaway’s couldn’t care less because they had rescued one Gypsy before and treated him as part of their family.

As I’ve said, this book may have romance between Amelia and Cam. But, I also loved that it also focuses on family. Amelia would do anything for her brother and for her three sisters. You could see that she became the mother figure for her siblings. And she does everything and anything for them. She became a strong-willed woman who would always put her family foremost before herself. So, when Cam entered her life, Amelia started to put down her walls again. And, I was really happy to see her enjoy life again. Cam was good for her and even her family sees that.

Overall, this book made me feel good and appreciate the love that one sibling can give for her family. The Hathaway’s are a crazy bunch but I think that makes them unique from other families. I personally loved Beatrix because she is just a carefree little girl and she have these little quirks that you will always find funny about her.

If you would like to start a historical fiction book, you may start with Lisa Kleypas’ works. They are fun to read and it’s just a light read. You wouldn’t know that you’re near the end already.

Another fun fact from this book. I love that Lisa incorporated a different language. I always swoon when Cam uses his old language. And I personally love the word monisha. 

Thank you for reading until here! xo

Leave a Reply

