BOOK REVIEW: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

13547135

ISBN13: 9781442421776
Publisher: Simon & Schuster for Young Readers
Publication date: October 23, 2012
Format: Paperback
Pages: 452 pages

SYNOPSIS

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


“You’re distracting,’ I said truthfully.
‘I won’t be. I promise,’ Noah said. ‘I’ll get some crayons and draw quitely. Alone. In a corner.”

I’m just doing a short review for this book because I can’t really remember all the scenes anymore. I started reading this last October 2015 because I wanted to read something creepy and I’ve been hearing a lot of reviews and there was still a hype for the Mara Dyer Trilogy. So, maybe it’s never too late to join the bandwagon, right? To be honest, if it wasn’t for Rexy who gave me books 1 and 2 of this trilogy, I would not have picked this up.

I would admit, it really gave me the creeps at first since there was a lot of things happening. And, Mara’s hallucinations were getting to me and I really feel bad for her. But, then it came to a point that I felt it was kind of repetitive already. I mean, I get it she’s afraid, she has PTSD, she has hallucinations. But, I was expecting more. Honestly, I needed an in depth answer on what she is. Of course, I’m not expecting that it would be answerable right away. But, maybe just a sneak peak would do. I felt like I’ve been running around in circles the whole time and I wanted to understand them so I can have a connection with the characters. But, I just felt all over the place.

Noah on the other hand is another mystery that I would like to have an answer. I know he explained what he is in the last parts of the book. But, how did he acquire that kind of power? Maybe a little back story about it would help me also to understand him more. Also, I didn’t find him “swoon-worthy” in this book, I swooned for his library sure. But, other than that? Nope. No connection. I think the problem here is me. If I have read this a little bit earlier maybe my review would be different. Maybe I’ll be able to connect with the characters more. I have read a lot of books with somehow the same plot as this one; We Were Liars can be an example, we all know that the main character there has a similarity with Mara. It’s a standalone but I connected easily with Cadence and I felt her grief easily while on Unbecoming, I kinda had a hard time. But yeah, maybe it’s just me. If I had read it in a different time I might have loved it like everyone else.

The plot-twist is interesting though. And that’s why I would still continue reading it. I have the second book so might as well finish them, right? I’m very thankful for Rexy for giving me these books. It’s not a bad read and for me it is still interesting. And if you haven’t read it yet maybe you could give it a try. It’s a little bit lengthy but it’s okay.

Thank you for reading up until here! Until then! xo

 

Leave a Reply

