BOOK REVIEW: The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

ISBN13: 9780060930189410276
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publication date: February 20, 2000
Format: Paperback
Pages: 264 pages

SYNOPSIS

The Bell Jar chronicles the crack-up of Esther Greenwood: brilliant, beautiful, enormously talented, and successful, but slowly going under–maybe for the last time. Sylvia Plath masterfully draws the reader into Esther’s breakdown with such intensity that Esther’s insanity becomes completely real and even rational, as probable and accessible an experiece as going to the movies. Such deep penetration into the dark and harrowing corners of the psyche is an extraordinary accomplishment and has made The Bell Jar a haunting American classic.72603-add-to-goodreads-button


If you expect nothing from anybody, you’re never disappointed.

I remember that I searched high and low to find a copy of this book. I didn’t want to purchase a brand new one from my local book store because it was too darn expensive. So, I just resorted in to buying a second hand copy. When I finally found an online store selling it for around 200php I immediately bought it. When it finally arrived on my doorstep, I kinda lost the interest to read it immediately, so I put it off for a few months. I remember that I just read the first 16 pages then I stopped. When I picked it up again two days ago I was determined to really finish it this week. And I’m really happy that I got to finish it.

I don’t know how to start my review because I’m still lost after reading it. Wait, lost is not the correct term. I felt empty after reading it. This book might be too difficult for other people to read because it will really make you feel things. And when I say feel things, it will really make you feel all kinds of sadness all at once.

The Bell Jar is a depressing book. And depressing may not be able to cover all the things you’ll be able to feel while reading this. But this is one of the best books that I have ever read. I love how I can feel everything Esther is experiencing. It was really sad because Esther had her future planned already and then all of a sudden it was all gone. It was hard reading about her succumbing in to depression because it really felt real. I remember the scene in which she was supposed to get her photo taken and then all of a sudden she burst out crying because she didn’t know what she wants to do with her life. And, I kinda felt her pain there because there are times when my anxiety attacks I also feel that way. People wouldn’t know what to do when they see you in that state because they don’t know what it’s like.

I have read a few books with this topic but nothing will compare to The Bell Jar. This book didn’t sugarcoat anything, this will show readers and take readers in to the mind of the character who is experiencing it and it will crawl in to you and it will devour you and after reading it you’ll feel as empty as I am today. Haha!

Overall, this book will enlighten you and I do hope you’ll be able to read this too. Just my advice, read something light or fluffy after reading this. The sadness might be a little overwhelming.

Thank you for reading up until here! xo

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Leave a Reply

