BOOK REVIEW: Mouthful of Forevers by Clementine von Radics

23522212ISBN13: 9781449470791
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Publication date: April 7, 2015
Format: Paperback
Pages: 112 pages

SYNOPSIS

Titled after the poem that burned up on Tumblr and has inspired wedding vows, paintings, songs, YouTube videos, and even tattoos among its fans, Mouthful of Forevers brings the first substantial collection of this gifted young poet’s work to the public.

Clementine von Radics writes of love, loss, and the uncertainties and beauties of life with a ravishing poetic voice and piercing bravura that speak directly not only to the sensibility of her generation, but to anyone who has ever been young.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


“I am 22 and crying because this new set of promises wants to kiss me, and I still taste like betrayal.”

I don’t really review poetry books because I really don’t know how to convey my experience while I read them. This is my first attempt and I hope it won’t be my last.

I came across this book when I was in my local bookstore, I didn’t buy it at first because it was quite pricey and I really didn’t know the author yet. But last week, I came across some snippets of her work on the internet. I got curious so I decided to purchase an e-book. And, oh my stars, I really wish that I picked up that copy a few weeks back.

Each page connects with you and it somehow hits you in the right places. I don’t really read a lot of poetry books but I’am a fan of them. I love how words and phrases makes you feel things that you are afraid of. I think Clementine did a great job in making this book because it really connects to you and you’ll be able to tell yourself that wait I felt this before. I also love how this book makes you feel that the author knows you in a more personal level. It’s like the book is making you understand yourself and heal yourself.

Overall this book is for those people who loves a lot and also to those who don’t love as much at all.


 

Some of my favorites from the book:

“I think I like myself a little broken,
with rough edges, a little harder
to grasp. I like poetry
better than therapy anyway.”


“You are soft and alive.
You bruise and heal. Cherish it.
It is what you were born to do.
It will not be beautiful,
but the truth is never is.”


“Getting everything you ever wanted
does not make you want less

and

You break the hearts
of better people
who get in your way.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

