AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT: Nicolette Duong

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hey guys! Last year I came across Miss Nicolette’s work through Instagram. I was really excited for her upcoming book which was published last December 22, 2015. You could check her New Adult novel Bound to Break on Goodreads!

Also, she kindly agreed to have a little interview for us! I just asked her some questions to get to know her more. So here it is! Enjoy!


What inspired you to write Bound to Break?
I wrote Bound to Break because I felt as though there were not enough books out there that blurred the lines between good and evil. That idea always interested me and I wanted to explore the possibility that there is always good in evil and evil sprouts from the failed attempts of good. I wanted to write a book where the reader will be left confused as to which end of the spectrum they will root for.
Who is/are your favorite author/s?
Hands down my favorite author is Colleen Hoover. I have many favorites, but she has always been a constant. Her books, even ones that I wouldn’t normally read, I have fallen in love with. She writes such unconventional heroines. Strong females don’t always have to beat down the bad guys or save the world, and Colleen Hoover proves that by writing independent young women that have learned to be strong for themselves.
What is your favorite book and genre that you would like people to read or try?
My favorite book is unsurprisingly by Colleen Hoover. I’ve read it so many times that I think I have it memorized. Although I write New Adult novels and go through them more than food or water, my favorite genre is Thriller. I love books that keep me awake at night, that keeps me on my toes. Caroline Kepnes does an amazing job of mixing all of my favorite genres into one with her novel, You.
Do you have a favorite Poet that inspired you to write Spellbound?
I unfortunately do not have a favorite Poet that inspired me to write. I was inspired to by the people that surrounded me. I was inspired, I guess, by the illusion love. Spellbound was written with one idea in my mind the entire time. Love is a choice, never a feeling.
In two words, how can you describe your debut novel, Bound to Break?
Everything. Bagel. Haha, I hope you understand my answer.

Get Bound to Break Here

boundtobreak_canvas_final

 

 

What happens when you try to let go of all the secrets you’ve kept your entire life?

2 thoughts on “AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT: Nicolette Duong

Leave a Reply

