BOOK REVIEW: Asylum by Madeleine Roux (Asylum #1)

13597728ISBN13: 9780062220974
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: August 26, 2014
Format: Paperback
Pages: 313 pages

SYNOPSIS

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm—formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline’s twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum’s dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


No great mind has ever existed without a touch of madness.

Please understand that I have a love and hate relationship with this book.

I love horror themed books because I love scaring the whole crap out of me and I love how my imagination is very vivid whenever I read this kind of genre. Me and my beau was searching high and low for this book because it was getting a lot of hype last October and November. I finally acquired a copy this month and I started reading it right away.

And the “hate” starts from here. The book was very dragging for me. I was excited to get goosebumps all over but I only got frustration. Maybe because it was told in third person POV and I really didn’t feel the connection. 313 pages is not that long but it took me around 3 days to finish it because it felt like it was just going all over the place and it was leading me to nowhere.

I didn’t really feel any connection with the characters, I wanted to know more about Jordan but he didn’t have enough pages for me. The plot seems promising since it was set inside an old asylum that was converted in to a dormitory but I think it needed more creepy descriptions. The photos on the other hand did gave me goosebumps especially the little girl that captured Abby’s attention. But other than that the book is lacking something for me.

Although this is just the first book so it might get better on its sequel. I’m still reading the second book though. But, I’ll just read it on e-book format. I hope it won’t be as dragging as the first one.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Asylum by Madeleine Roux (Asylum #1)

    1. I was so disappointed because it was so hard to find in our local bookstore! I thought everyone is buying it because it was good read! It was sad that it was lacking everything that I wanted to see in an asylum themed book. Don’t know if I should read the second and third book. The only thing creepy about it are the photos. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

