BOOK REVIEW: What You Wanted by Mina V. Esguerra

mina esguerra

ISBN13: 9781311000408
Format: e-ARC
Published date: November 24, 2015

SYNOPSIS

It’s the classic one-night stand: Beach wedding, bridesmaid, groom’s friend. When Andrea and Damon meet, sparks fly, and they give in to the attraction. Sounds simple, but Andrea’s still getting over someone, and Damon thought he’d be hooking up with another person that night. It could still be simple, really, if they chalk it up to a weekend tryst and move on.

But one night becomes lunch the week after, and then dinner the next weekend…and before they know it, Andrea and Damon are still together, dealing with the feelings they know they might still have for other people. How hard can it be to get exactly what you want? How do you even know what it is?

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


Thad was happy. I was happy. We were all disgustingly happy bunnies. And we were going to prove it.

Thank you Chic Manila for granting me an ARC of this book.

This is my first book by Mina Esguerra and it certainly won’t be my last. I felt weird at first when I was reading this romance novel because it was set in the Philippines! And even the names were the usual Filipino names! I’m not used to that so it was refreshing.

So this book is all about Andrea and Damon’s weird ‘relationship’. They are both using each other to forget someone. They both have failed relationships so when they were in ‘need’, they turned into each other. The story was not hard to get around to even though I didn’t have any idea on how they started.

It was fun to read and very interesting. I love how Andrea’s spirit is so spunky and also carefree. It balances Damon’s mysterious aura. Through-out the book we will feel how Andrea and Damon’s relationship become something more.

Through-out the book we will be introduce to Andrea and Damon’s lives. I liked Andrea’s friends because they are trying to reach out to her even though she didn’t want to talk to them because of Thad. And I also liked Damon’s friends because they were very supportive of them both. One thing that I dislike about them is of course they were just using each other to get other people’s attention when in reality they are really falling for each other already.

There are also funny scenes in this novel, one scene that I love is when Andrea brought Damon in to their house without knowing Julie and Anton were there. That was a very funny scene.

Overall the book did well for me, I like how it was constructed and I also like how it ended. I just wished that Andrea made up her mind about Damon earlier so that some scenes were prevented but overall the story worked and they both get what they wanted and needed.

I hope you get a copy of this book or any Mina V. Esguerra books! They are well written and you’ll also fall in love with her characters! You can find her books at National Book Store.


Mina ESG

CONNECT WITH HER HERE:

personal-computer

instagram-logo-icon

Goodreads-icon

Leave a Reply

