BOOK REVIEW: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #2)

18139931ISBN13: 9781250007216
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication date: February 5, 2013
Format: Paperback
Pages: 454 pages

SYNOPSIS

Cinder is back and trying to break out of prison—even though she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive if she does—in this second installment from Marissa Meyer.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother, or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


I think I realized that I would rather die because I betrayed them, than live because I betrayed you.

 

I love this book! I don’t know why I putted it off for almost a year before I started reading it! I read Cinder last year because it was the book of the month of Bookish Pinoys. I love re-tellings! And this Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer is my favorite fairytale retellings.

So this second book focuses more on Scarlet (Little Red Riding Hood), and of course you will see some glimpses of Cinder (Cinderella) here but the whole book really focused on Scarlet’s story. I loved how the book is action-packed and I love Scarlet because she is so spunky. The story goes into when Michelle Benoit, Scarlet’s grandmother disappeared. Since, Scarlet is so stubborn she was determined to find her grandmother even though she doesn’t have the slightest idea where to find her. Until he met Wolf. Oh stars, Wolf! I was actually swooning for him! He was an alpha of a wolf pack. And when he goes overprotective towards Scarlet I swear I was going really rooting for them until the incident in Paris.

Aside from Scarlet and Wolf, there is also another new character in this series, and he his Captain Carswell Thorne. And for the love of all things holy he is so funny and charming! I find him very entertaining through-out his and Cinder’s chapter. If I wasn’t rooting for Cinder and Kai, I think my next OTP will be him in Cinder. I like Thorne keeps trying to charm Cinder with his wits. My personal favorite scene of him was when Cinder stormed out the room because she couldn’t take the pressure of them talking about her as Princess Selene. And Thorne told Scarlet and Wolf that Cinder is like that but that is part of her charm. I swear, that scored major points in his part.

I love this book very much especially the intimate moments of Scarlet and Wolf. And of course their little proclamation in the ship’s galley. I felt so sorry for Iko for hearing that. But, it was just adorable!

Overall, the book didn’t disappoint. I’m about to start Cress hopefully this week and then Winter. I’m so excited to see how the series will end!

So if you haven’t read The Lunar Chronicles yet, please do yourself a favor and just try them! I have a review of Cinder but I think I just posted it on my Instagram account but I’ll be transferring it here soon so just check Goodreads for it.

So until then, cheers! ❤

Leave a Reply

