BOOK REVIEW: The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender

24612533ISBN13: 9780545639996)
Publisher: Point
Publication date: August 25, 2015
Format: Hardback
Pages: 329 pages

SYNOPSIS

In this asylum, your mind plays tricks on you all the time…

Delia’s new house isn’t just a house. Long ago, it was the Piven Institute for the Care and Correction of Troubled Females—an insane asylum nicknamed “Hysteria Hall.” However, many of the inmates were not insane, just defiant and strong willed. Kind of like Delia herself.

But the house still wants to keep “troubled” girls locked away. So, in the most horrifying way, Delia gets trapped.

And that’s when she learns that the house is also haunted.

Ghost girls wander the halls in their old-fashioned nightgowns. A handsome ghost boy named Theo roams the grounds. Delia finds that all the spirits are unsettled and full of dark secrets. The house, as well, harbors shocking truths within its walls—truths that only Delia can uncover, and that may set her free.

But she’ll need to act quickly, before the house’s power overtakes everything she loves.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


But there was something on the floor that hadn’t been there before—a tiny image, carefully cut out of a magazine: a little box of cat food. Weird.

I love reading horror-themed books! To be honest, I’m quite a scaredy cat when it comes to horror movies because my imagination goes a long way and it messes with me whenever I go to sleep. So, a horror movie is not my cup of tea. But, horror-themed books? Sign me up for that!

So I saw this book from Salve’s Fall Book Haul video, I got intrigued with how she blurbed about it because it was also set in an asylum. I have this weird fascination for asylum, so on that note, I downloaded it on my iBooks and began reading it immediately!

So basically, our main character here is Delia. She was named after her great aunt who happens to live in the ‘Hysteria Hall’ house. When her aunt passed away, she left Delia the house without proper introduction on what seems to be ‘living’ there. When Delia went to the house to spend a week to clean it up, well bad luck happened.

Basically, she died and her spirit was trapped inside the house. There she met the other girls who were also trapped inside. There were patients that gave me the creeps but you’ll get to know each characters personality. My personal favorite will always be Maria and of course the mischievous twins. The plot was very interesting and I also liked the plot twist that were inside the book. I felt sorry for Delia’s parents and sister. They were really blaming themselves for Delia’s death but in the last parts of the book you will see how she gave closure to her family.

One interesting scene from this book is when she was just using the music box and then three years has passed by her suddenly. That was just weird and creepy. And also, when she was just sitting on the lawn staring at the gate then suddenly 6 weeks has passed by. Way to go on living your dead-life to the fullest.

Overall the book was okay. The characters were like-able and the scenes were okay too. There were scenes that had me at the edge of the sit but it really didn’t creep me out that much.

Just a piece of advice. If you want to read something spooky for halloween, I suggest your read something that is asylum based rather than haunted house based. Since, when you are reading about something in an asylum you won’t really get that scared since you’re not in one. Haha!

So that’s it for my review. If you have suggestions for horror-themed books please comment it down below! I like to read some more!

Until then, cheers! ❤

Leave a Reply

