BOOK REVIEW: Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil

16119664ISBN13: 9781742973951
Publisher: Hardie Grant Egmont
Publication date: February 1, 2013
Format: Paperback
Pages: 305 pages

SYNOPSIS

Sam Kinnison is a geek, and he’s totally fine with that. He has his horror movies, his nerdy friends, World of Warcraft – and until Princess Leia turns up in his bedroom, he doesn’t have to worry about girls.

Then Sam meets Camilla. She’s beautiful, friendly and completely irrelevant to his life. Sam is determined to ignore her, except that Camilla has a life of her own – and she’s decided that he’s going to be part of it.

Sam believes that everything he needs to know he can learn from the movies … but now it looks like he’s been watching the wrong ones.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


I guess some people enter your orbit and get stuck, and there’s nothing either of you can do about it.

Let me just tell here that this is by far one of the cutest stories that I have ever read! I was in a reading slump for two months already and this book cured it! I think this will be my go-to book when I’m not in the mood to read anything.

It was so light, funny, and refreshing. The characters were so easy to love and I loved how it didn’t focus on the romance so much but we could still see the journey of how Camilla and Sam’s relationship evolved. This is also by far the only book that I’ve read where all of the characters had their individual growth.

They somehow compare this book to Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park, since I haven’t read E&P yet, I could not compare it. I think I don’t even want to compare it to any other books. This one is unique in it’s own way.

I would want to talk about a lot of stuff regarding this book especially when Sam’s parents were about to get a divorce and all of his friends were calling him and re-assuring him. I loved that scene because it shows how true friendship is and even if you are already halfway across the world or country you will still call in to check your best friend.

There were a lot of trials in this book which made all of the characters grow and I think they were all executed properly. It didn’t felt force nor it was fill-ins for the story, it was nice to know that all of them were involved.

I want to tell more about this book but I might spoil you guys. So, if you want to know more about it, you should pick this book up. And I promise you, you would not regret it.

Let me know when you guys pick this book up! Until then, cheers!

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil

Leave a Reply

