BOOK REVIEW: Omega by Lizzy Ford (Omega #1)

25198255ISBN13: 9781623782078
Publisher: Captured Press
Publication date: October 26, 2015
Format: Pre-proofed ARC
Pages: 490 pages

SYNOPSIS

In a modern world ruled by territorial Greek gods, the human race has been oppressed, exploited and now, nearly destroyed by the constant infighting of gods.

However, a human girl with the power of a goddess is coming of age. Alessandra is the Oracle of Delphi – the last prophesized – and bears the mark of the double omega. Soon after she turns eighteen, Alessandra is told her destiny: to step between the warring gods and the human race and save her world from certain ruin.

For the gods, her appearance marks the beginning of the end – their end. They and the Triumvirate – leaders of the human elite – who serve them will stop at nothing to preserve their power.

Alessandra emerges from the forest where she spent her life hidden from gods and men and immediately plummets into a race against time, gods, and herself to discover who and what she is in a world where everyone she meets has a hidden agenda, and those pulling the strings remain in the shadows.

Before she can determine exactly what kind of savior her world needs, she must first master her power by completing three trials devised by the Triumvirate to enslave her.

One lone girl stands between warring gods and the people she’s destined to protect, but it’s the battle to understand who she is that she must win first.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


Before I signed up for the blog tour, Miss Ford was generous enough to send me an ARC of Omega in exchange for an unbiased review.


RATING: 4.5/5 STARS


I love greek retellings. I started reading retellings when I came across Tellulah Darling’s Blooming Goddess Trilogy and of course Uncle Rick’s Percy Jackson series. Ever since then I loved reading anything that has greek myths in it. So when I saw this title on Instagram, I was really intrigued.

The concept was promising even though I’ve been exposed to this kind of genre. The Gods are about to destroy all humans so they need a savior, and so we met Alessandra. She also has powers and she is also the Oracle of Delphi. But before she can save humanity, she needs to master her powers. Alessandra was hidden for 12 years so that she they could train her for this event. When she was released, I can say that she got confused on what to do. She didn’t even know who to trust outside.

The book was so thick and it kind of overwhelmed me since I wanted to finish it in time for the blog tour to start. Some parts got confusing and I was on the verge of not finishing it anymore. But, I decided to stick through it and I’m glad I did. The world-building was so easy to imagine and since this is a dystopian setting it will really take a lot of effort for an author to make the world imaginable for the readers. So, kudos to Miss Ford for an awesome setting!

I love how Alessandra is very stubborn. I like characters who are not easy to like because you’ll be able to see them progress and it makes the reading more fun somehow. I also love how bad-ass she is in the battlefield.

For the romance part of the book, I’m glad that it’s not insta-lovish. I really hate characters falling in love instantly, especially when the book is part of a series. What happened to getting to know each other? lol What I liked about the romance part is it’s very innocent. Their attraction was so simple and their arguments are just enjoyable to read.

Overall the book was more than what I expected. There are a lot of twist and revelations that will keep you wanting more. So, I recommend this book if you want to read something refreshing and out of your comfort zone.

And, I hope 2016 will come soon because I’m so stoked for the second book! Now, I’m off to reading the mini-series. 🙂

Until then, cheers!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Lizzy Ford is the award winning, internationally acclaimed author of over thirty five books written for young adult, new adult and adult romance readers, to include the internationally bestselling Rhyn Trilogy, Witchling Series and the War of Gods series. Considered a freak of nature by her peers for the ability to write and release a commercial quality novel in under a month, Lizzy has focused on keeping her readers happy by producing brilliant, gritty romances that remind people why true love is a trial worth enduring.
Author links:

THIS BLOG TOUR IS SPONSORED BY

ButtonXBT

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Omega by Lizzy Ford (Omega #1)

  1. I love greek mythology and this one sounds like a fun and complex read, I also like the mix of dystopia-like story with it. Glad you liked it and that you stuck with it! Big books always overwhelm, me, too but I often find they end up being the most memorable and well developed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

