BOOK REVIEW: Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

18775628ISBN13: 9781442486607
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication date: May 6, 2014
Format: Paperback
Pages: 400 pages

SYNOPSIS

It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives.

But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations. As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer, she discovers harsh revelations about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

Awaiting the judge’s decree, it becomes clear to Anna that everyone around her thinks she is not only guilty, but also dangerous. And when the whole story comes out, reality is more shocking than anyone could ever imagine…

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


How much do you love me?
Miles and miles.
Always.

I put off reading this book a few months ago since I was not sure if I would like it because I have already read a few YA mystery novels and I was not quite impress with them because I felt the plot was kind of repetitive. So, I second guessed this book. I think this was a part of either my July or August TBR but I didn’t really push through with it. I just started to pick it up around the first or second week of September because I already purchased Dangerous Boys also. So, it’s now or never right? I have heard a lot of great reviews about Dangerous Girls so I started reading it again. And, thank you higher power for urging me because it turned out to be a great book! Another one that earned a spot on my favorite shelf! It was so full of twist and turns that I couldn’t put down the book anymore.

We follow Anna and Elise’s vacation with their friends in Aruba. How they were having fun a few days ago and then the next day they find Elise, brutally murdered. The book goes from the past and the present showing Anna and Elise’s friendship how they treat each other as sisters. Through-out the story you will see how innocent Anna is, how she could never do anything bad to Elise.

While I was reading this book, I already have a suspect in mind. I really have this instinct that let’s me know that he might be the one who killed Elise. I was pitying Anna because she was stuck in Aruba prison. Imagine a young girl, who is locked-up in a correctional facility, away from his loved-ones, forgotten by her friends and boyfriend. That sucks, right? She was being accused of something she did not do and the prosecutor was doing everything to blame her. Even the slightest pictures from Halloween they were giving it a different meaning. I got so frustrated with that part, whenever she was on trial, I got so frustrated because I felt that Anna was being abused. No one should be treated like that. Let alone a young girl.

After all the frustrations the book gave me, my point of view changed when I reached the last part of the book. That was the biggest revelation and I applaude Abigail Haas for it. It felt like I was reading And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie again. I didn’t see it coming! The suspect that I’ve been rooting for turned out to be innocent! I love the twist and I’m excited to read more of Abigail Haas’ work. I’m already side reading Dangerous Boys while I was making this blog post a few days ago. And so far, I’m liking it also.

If you want to try YA Mystery, you should definitely pick this up. It’s more than its pretty cover.

Leave a Reply

