TIPS AND THOUGHTS #4: HOW TO MAKE A BLOG


I’ve been asked a few times at Instagram on how to make a blog like mine. I’ve never thought that people will like the content or design that I do on my blog since it’s just like any other blog in the web. But nevertheless, I thank those people who took the time to come here and just look around.

I started blogging when I was in high school and I liked to blog different things so my posts before was just all over the place. It really didn’t look like this; I was not an organized person back then. So, I’m glad I grew out of that and made something that my past self will be proud of.

So let’s get this started! These are my tips on making a blog!

First, choose a platform. The first platform that I used was Tumblr because it was very user-friendly. I think that is one of the most important things that you need to do before you start blogging. You need to choose a social platform that you are most comfortable with. If you are comfortable with something then it will be easy for you to go around it.

Second, think of what your blog will consist of. For starters, mine is basically for book reviews, polymer clays, and some of my personal life. Organize your categories so that when people read your blogs they wont be overwhelmed with the content. It is nice to have tags on your titles so that your readers will get an instant hint on what they are about to read into.

Third, make it clean. Not just in content but also in design. I’m not a fan of too much color because for me it’s just not pleasing in the eyes and it feels like the colors are devouring you. Make it clean as it can be. Use maybe a combination of 2 to 3 colors max and avoid super bright hues. Simplicity is a key.

Fourth, quality over quantity. It is better to have a few posts that are well written and cohesive than so much post but they are just not that interesting. You don’t need to blog every single thing. Maybe, you could post the highs and lows of your week or maybe just post the key moments. It’s always up to you! But never post something just for the sake of posting. Blogging should never be a burden it should always be fun.

Fifth, always put credits if you are getting something out of the Internet. Always. This is like, Internet courtesy.

Sixth, just have fun. Blog because you want to not because it’s a trend or because you think it will be cool to have one. As I’ve said, blogging should never be a burden. Don’t fret if you don’t have something to post today. Blog when it is convenient to you not because they expect you to.

And that’s it! Those are my tips for blogging! If you want to start your own blog or if you already have one I hope this helped! I know we have different blog styles but this works for me and I’m just sharing it. What may work for me might not work for you and that is okay. Always have your own style never be an imitation of someone else.

I wish I could also teach you guys how to make a banner but I think that’s for another post. I’m not really good at teaching Photoshop but I will try my best.

Thank you for reading up until here!
Until then!

4 thoughts on “TIPS AND THOUGHTS #4: HOW TO MAKE A BLOG

Leave a Reply

