BOOK REVIEW: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

20757526ISBN13: 9781250061454
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Publication date: April 26, 2014
Format: Paperback
Pages: 272 pages

SYNOPSIS

The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.

But somehow even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes in their relationship.

Surely Gabe and Lea will figure out that they are meant to be together….

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


Every time I see her, I’m always surprised. She keeps me on my toes. She smiles when I need her to, even though she could never know that I needed her to. I like the way she looks when she’s thinking. I like the way she looks at me when I’m thinking.

This is by far the cutest book that I have ever read! And it’s also the weirdest since it was told in 14 point of views! It even has a point of view of a squirrel and a bench! And those were my favorite POV’s! The story revolves around Gabe and Lea, two college students, that are obviously meant to be together but they are just to shy to make a move. I love how everyone sees their attraction and how the different people tries to get them together.

The story was narrated by different people but what I loved about it is that even though the narrator changes it is still written in first person. You would think that having 14 individuals (including a squirrel and a bench) tell you a story would be confusing but this book pulled that off so hat’s off to the author for that.

Some of my favorite scenes were when Victor told them after the first creative writing class that they need to get their acts together and just be together. I found that very cute because even though Victor hates them he still wants them to be together. Another favorite is about the squirrel, I love the squirrel’s POV about Gabe and Lea and of course his acorns! And finally, I loved how Gabe finally told Lea his secret. It was the really big push so that they could understand each other I think that if he have told Lea that incident a few chapters back they would have been together already! But nonetheless, I was so happy with the ending! I love how everything went and I’m also glad that it didn’t feel like insta-love ish. I was happy that there were a lot of trials between them so when they finally got together it felt very fulfilling.

This is the kind of book you would like to read when you are feeling down or maybe just want something cute and fluffy after reading something big. The plot is easy to get into and it’s also a fast read. But, it also had some minor flaws. I wish that there were more Lea and Gabe POVs. I kinda want to know what was happening inside their head most of the time. But overall, this book was great! I gave it a 4 star rating on Goodreads!

I hope you guys would pick up this book also! I don’t even know why it took me this long to read this book!

Until then, cheers!

Leave a Reply

