BOOK REVIEW: The Girl From The Well by Rin Chupeco

25263927ISBN13: 9781492608684
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication date: May 1, 2015 (first published August 4, 2014)
Format: Paperback
Pages: 304 pages

SYNOPSIS:

A dead girl walks the streets.

She hunts murderers. Child killers, much like the man who threw her body down a well three hundred years ago.

And when a strange boy bearing stranger tattoos moves into the neighborhood so, she discovers, does something else. And soon both will be drawn into the world of eerie doll rituals and dark Shinto exorcisms that will take them from American suburbia to the remote valleys and shrines of Aomori, Japan.

Because the boy has a terrifying secret – one that would just kill to get out.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


I am the fate that people fear to become. I am what happens to good persons and to bad persons and to everyone in between. I am who I am.

“I am where dead children go.”

That was the first line from the first chapter of this book. After reading that I’m not that really sure if I wanted to read more in to this. But since I already bought myself a copy and it was kinda pricey for a paperback I decided to suck it up and just read. If you think that the first few chapters will just be a subtle introduction of the characters well you are wrong. It’s actually very fast paced and by page 32 I stopped reading not because I was scared.. well, okay I was a bit scared considering my dog freaking barked after reading the scary part. And, I was reading in broad daylight for crying out loud!

What I like about The Girl From The Well is that it didn’t revolve on any love interest. Considering it is a YA horror story I was kinda expecting it to be like Anna dressed in blood which I found disturbing rather than scary. The narrator in this book is Okiku, an onryuu. I really like how she tells the story and how she describes what she sees. If you read the book you’ll kinda get the image of Sadako from The Ring being Okiku. You will also meet Tarquin, the possessed boy, which you’ll also love for his sarcastic character. Cammie, his cousin, who for some reason sees Okiku too. And Sandra, the peculiar little girl.

The plot was very simple and it has a lot of Japanese reference which I found very interesting. I’m also wondering if Okiku’s well in Japan really exists. You’ll really feel that the author did a lot of research while writing the book. From the places, the rituals, the fokelore.  Everything is very well written! Even the killing scenes were very vivid and you can really imagine it. It was kinda scary and disturbing but it doesn’t revolve around killings so you’ll be good.

Through out the book, you’ll be scared and amaze at the same time. Especially when you get into the last few chapters. I really like the exorcism chapter because I love how it was explained. A funny story about it is while I was reading it, Josh and I were talking on the phone. After a few minutes, the call was cut. I couldn’t call him back but after a few retries the call went through. Take note, I was finishing the book at around 10pm. Talk about creepy!

Overall, I loved this book. It was kinda refreshing after reading the usual novels we purchase. I have this huge fascination towards Japanese horror stories and this kind of hit that spot. It was a combination of the grudge, the ring, and the exorcist. If you enjoyed those movies you might enjoy this book too. If you are planning to read this I suggest you read it during the mornings or afternoons.

I was planning to put on some reference photos so you guys can imagine it too. But, after searching through google, I kinda don’t like to scare you and myself when I visit this blog post.

So, thank you for reading up until here! ❀

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Girl From The Well by Rin Chupeco

  1. I loved this book too! It definitely succeeded at terrifying me, which is great. And thank you for NOT posting images that are like this book, I would’ve probably fainted or something. Haha. Great review though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

