BOOK REVIEW: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

41xTH4whq9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_ISBN13: 9781409151173
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication date: February 10, 2015
Format: Paperback
Pages: 388 pages

SYNOPSIS:

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


Suddenly it’s very hard to breathe.
Maven shakes his head. “He will always choose you.”

The first time I saw Red Queen is when I was browsing books on Goodreads, I was searching for something new to read and I stumble upon this book. When I saw that it was set to be release last February I was so giddy because the synopsis was very promising and I wanted to buy a physical copy of this book. Come in February, the hype was so intense about this book. I haven’t had the chance to purchase my copy yet because it was always out of stock. Those people who already bought it and was finished reading it was already giving out spoilers which irks me a lot because that was just so rude. So moving on, my boyfriend bought me a copy around March. The hype was still there but I really wanted to read the book already.

Upon reading the first few chapters last March, I felt it was a bit slow for a fantasy read. So, I stopped reading at Chapter 3. This week, I finally told myself that I need to finish reading it already so I picked it up and started reading it again. It was still a bit slow but my friends told me that it will get better so I gave the book the benefit of the doubt and I patiently read it. And oh my, I’m glad it did.

The book got better when we discovered that Mare, a red by blood has her own abilities. I flew through the pages after that scene. There were a lot of twists when she met the royal family and the hardships didn’t end there of course. This book may be similar to other YA dystopian stories but the author did a great job in writing it. I didn’t really fell in love with the world in a snap since I kinda had a hard time imagining it. To tell the truth, I also did a quick Google search to see what Mare looks like. Thank you fan arts for that! But, nonetheless, the book was okay and I’m looking forward for its sequel next year. I just hope that there will be no repetitive sayings. I kinda grew tired of seeing “Anyone can betray anyone” in every chapter.

The ending was really the biggest plot twist in the book. I didn’t expect the turn of events but I’m glad it happened. I’m so excited for the Glass Sword because I want to see Maven die already.

I still enjoyed the book and I still gave it 4 stars on Goodreads.
Thank you again for reading up until here! Until then, cheers!

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

