BOOK REVIEW: The Year We Became Invincible by Mae Coyuito

ISBN13: 9789712731488
Publisher: Anvil Publishing, Inc.
Format: Paperback
Pages: 179 pages

SYNOPSIS:

Dear Future Reader,

If you’re reading this book, it’s either:

1. You’re my future partner
2. I’m famous and my writings have been immortalized
3. You’ve violated my privacy and these are not meant for you

Let’s hope it’s not the last one. Before this year, I had my life all planned out. This book contains the story of the year that changed my life (well, my life so far). It’s the year I learned how to be invincible. That wasn’t really specific, but I guess you have to read on to see what I’m talking about.

Love,
Camille


I’m so so sorry… I just can’t live a life where I feel guilty for loving.

I came across this book while I was browsing at National Book Store. It caught my attention because the cover is really lovely andI was really curious about the story. While I was reading the description at the back of the book I thought it was similar to Jenny Han’s To all the boys I’ve loved before. When I opened it, I was shocked that the book was written in diary form! Like every page is like reading your diary so since I really want to buy a book that day I decided to purchase it. And hey, it was only priced at P195!

This was my first local author book so I really didn’t know what to expect. I really don’t read Wattpad books because I felt like they weren’t my cup of tea. The Year We Became Invincible is kind of like a novella where the main character, Camille Li, writes to her future partner about her highs and lows of her life. She has her life already planned out from start to finish. She even planned her family! But when she met Ian and the other adventure-seeking friends she went on a journey about self discovery, pushing the boundaries and just living her life to the fullest.

Camille’s character was really easy to get in to considering I have a couple of friends that is just like her. The book was short but I kinda have a hard time sitting through it, maybe because I’m not that used to YA anymore. The story got better when she finally met Ian’s friends. Felix, Gabby and Rica were really interesting because they are just the opposite of Camille and I think having that contrast of characters made the book more alive. I also like how her new friends made her from that ordinary school girl to that vibrant spontaneous girl.

Overall, the pacing was alright. But there were some scenes that I wish had more explanation. Especially the thing that concerns her older sister, Lea. I wanted to know more about that but she just appeared again in the last chapters of the book. The writing is also good they were easy to read in to, there were no unnecessary methapors or jargons. It really felt like I was reading Camille’s diary.

This was my first local author book and certainly it will not be the last. I actually like the book since it was a breather from all the books that I have read in the past few weeks. What I loved about this book is that it has the whole teenage life and problems rolled in to 178 pages, it has family, friends, love, academics and adventures. Clearly, a recommended book for the young adult readers out there.

I rated this book 3.75 stars and if you would like to purchase a copy it’s already available at all National Book Store outlets!

Thank you for reading up until here! Till next time! Cheers!

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Year We Became Invincible by Mae Coyuito

    1. Yay! I hope you would like it too! I don’t know if it’s available internationally. But, here’s the instagram account of the author (@maecoyuito) you could also ask her about it! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

