BOOK REVIEW: Always You by Missy Johnson

18403696ISBN13: 9780987534385
Publisher: CreateSpace
Publication date: December 19, 2013
Format: Paperback
Pages: 308 pages

SYNOPSIS

I was thrilled when I was offered a graduate teaching position at the prestigious Tennerson Girls Academy. At twenty-three, this would be my first ‘real’ teaching assignment. Working at the elite boarding school, home to the daughters of some of the wealthiest people in the world, was a great opportunity that I would’ve been stupid to pass up.

One week into my new job, and I suddenly had no idea why I chose high school…I was a seventeen year old boy once, I knew how teenage girls behaved.

You can’t even imagine the hell of trying to teach thirty, hormonal driven seventeen year olds who have been cooped up, away from any male contact.
I could handle the whispers every time I entered the room. I could even handle the obvious attempts at gaining my attention. What I couldn’t handle was her…

Rich bitches and way too many rules. Was it any wonder that I hated school?

Add to that the lack of male contact, and I was going insane. Like literally. I wasn’t used to this. A year ago I was normal. I had a boyfriend, friends and a loving family. There is nothing normal about me anymore, and nobody here lets me forget that.

My name is Wrenn, and I’m only here because my aunt took me in after what happened, but my aunt also happens to be the headmistress of this academy…Can you see my problem?

I’m hated for my lack of money, and I’m hated for who my Aunt is.
Then he arrived. Dalton Reed. My new history teacher.
Slowly, he helped me see that even in the worst situations, there is always hope.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


You can’t choose who you fall in love with, all you can do is be damn thankful you’ve found someone who understands you.

This is my second student-teacher relationship book for this week and I still have another one that I’m currently reading right now. I don’t know guys, I have this weird fascination on this kind of stories. It is somehow a guilty pleasure when you just want to read something light and fluffy that will make you swoon in the right places. I think I could say that this week is fall in love with your teacher kind of week on my TBR. lol

I was just side reading this book along with my current read The Year We Became Invincible, I didn’t expect that I’ll be finishing this first considering my first read was only 175 pages long. It only took me almost a day or so to finish this book since I already started this last night. It was such a light and fast read that made me just want to hug the characters especially Wrenn.

Always you was not just a student-teacher kind of story. For me, it really didn’t focused on that. It was a story more about acceptance than falling madly in love with your teacher. Unlike the other stories of this genre this book doesn’t have much of a conflict and that was okay because I really want things to work out with them considering what they both have been through.

And oh, I love her Aunt Layna because she was so understanding on their situation. She was a great guardian for Wrenn and I loved how she and her husband took her in after her parents accident. I also loved her best friend Kass, she was very spunky and that thing she did for Wrenn when they saw Dalton on a date was priceless!

Overall, the book was a bittersweet read. I didn’t quite like the ending because I felt that it could have been better or it could have been closed better. I don’t know I just needed some kind of a closure. I rated it 3 stars on Goodreads because their relationship felt kinda instant. I just wished they took their time in getting to know each other. But, maybe considering that their time table was kind of short because Wrenn was about to graduate in 8 weeks they need to speed it up a bit.

I still enjoyed the story and if you happen to pick up this book let me know what you think! Until then, cheers!

Leave a Reply

