BOOK REVIEW: Bad Romeo by Leisa Rayven

21411058ISBN13: 9781250063274
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication date: December 23, 2014
Format: Paperback
Pages: 416pages

SYNOPSIS:

When Cassie Taylor met Ethan Holt at acting school, sparks flew. She was the good girl actress. He was the bad boy about campus. But one fated casting choice for Romeo and Juliet changed it all. Like the characters they were playing, Cassie and Ethan’s romance seemed destined. Until he broke her heart and betrayed her trust. Now the A-list heartthrob is back in her life and turning her world around. One touch at a time.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button


It’s easier to expect nothing, because then nothing can be taken away from you.

Oh wow, this book gave me quite a ride. At first I was really hesitant in reading this book because well the title is really misleading and I thought it was just a typical new adult book that I have read. But boy, am I wrong. This book is so much more than the pretty pink cover it possessed.

This is not a typical new adult book for me because we usually have a very opened male protagonist in the NA genre. You know, the man who likes to have sex a lot, the man whose a bit close but sweet on the side just the usual. But here, it switches! The lead female is the one voicing out her sexual cravings! It was really refreshing to see a female like that. And that’s what makes me love this book! Even though Cassie and Ethan’s relationship was like a a freaking roller coaster ride it was really fun to read. I like the switching of past and present of the book but I wished that it focuses more on the past since clearly this was not a standalone. It took me eighteen chapters to hear Ethan say I love you to Cassie and it was just such a long wait considering this book has only twenty two chapters.

This book really made me feel a lot, especially the bitterness. How love turned to hate can really change a person. How someone hurt that much can be such a closed person after. And for me, I could not really blame Cassie for being so closed. Their relationship was really exhausting! I just want to tell Ethan to grow a pair and stop his emotional constipation.

I’m already telling you guys that this book is not a standalone so if you’re not a fan of cliffhangers I suggest when you read this book get Broken Juliet too because for the love of everything that is holy you’ll need it.

This book got me swooning, frustrated, exhausted, irritated and a lot more. That’s why I rated it 5 stars on Goodreads. It may not be someone’s cup of tea but if a book made me feel exhausted because of its character I know it’s a good one.

Again, thank you for reading up until here! Please watch out for my Broken Juliet review this week. If you think Bad Romeo is exhausting just wait for my Broken Juliet review. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

