BOOK REVIEW: Love Always, Kate by D. Nichole King

25378986Published: April 3, 2014
Publisher: Limitless Publishing LLC
Series: Love Always #1

Synopsis:

Dear Diary,
Leukemia’s been my life since I was eleven. Now, six years later, I want my life back. Only I’m not sure what that is. The test results came back today. 22,000. Which means I’m officially out of remission—again. I have three options:

1) Another round of chemo.
2) A super-new experimental drug.
3) Dump it all— forget the meds and treatments and enjoy the time I have left.

I think I know what I want. Then, in walks Damian, changing everything.

I mean, everything…

He’s got his own set of issues. It binds us together, you know? We understand what it’s like to lose what matters most in seconds. Still, the last thing I need is to have someone else to crush if I can’t fight hard enough. And the last thing he needs is someone else to grieve.

Never mind. I’m down to two options now.

Somehow I know that whichever one I choose, the result will be the same. With the sand in my hourglass seeping to the bottom, I hope there’s enough left to show Damian that life’s worth living.

Worth fighting for. Worth dying for.

Love Always,
Kate


Just because it’s not easy, doesn’t mean it’s not worth it.

4.5 stars for this novel!

The first thing that went to my mind when I saw this book is that it’s going to make me cry. Just seeing the ratings on Goodreads I thought this book had made a lot of people shed a tear or two. I already knew what I’m getting in to.

What I love about the book are the diary entries it made me feel connected to Kate through out the book. I remember when I was about 7 years old I also kept a diary and while reading this I kinda had flashbacks from my childhood.

So, Damian and Kate met inside the hospital when Damian suddenly goes to the wrong room looking for his father. When Kate saw him, she instantly had a crush on him. And as it turns out, he has a crush on her too. Their relationship slowly grew, there was no insta-love. And that’s what I liked about it.

I really liked this novel because Kate and Damian were portrayed nicely in the book. It was perfect for their age so that the different scenes were not hard to envision and it was very comfortable to read. I really enjoyed reading the diary entries because it explains so much on what was happening.

And the ending? Let’s just say there were a lot of tears, man. A LOT.
Love Always, Kate, is an amazing debut novel by D. Nichole King, I look forward on reading more of her works.

I didn’t want to enumerate a lot of scenes because I want you guys to pick the book up for yourselves and experience it. Just click on the book’s cover photo and it will direct you to Goodreads.

If you want to have it on paperbacks here are some links for you on where to get them: Bookdepository, Amazon and Kindle.

Leave a Reply

