THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY BY BETHANY CHASE

thumb_IMG_6646-1_1024

AUTHOR: BETHANY CHASE
ISBN13: 9780804179423
PUBLISHED: March 31, 2015
PUBLISHER: Ballantine Books

Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, this bright, funny debut from a fresh voice in fiction offers a delicious take on love, family, and what it means to build a home of one’s own.


Every woman has one. That name you Google in two o’clock in the morning.

With that one particular line. I know I was such a goner in this book. I immediately picked it up on my iBooks and started reading it with my friend Avy.
This book got me entertained and made me feel things from fluffy to heartbreaking.

What I love about this book is that I could relate to Sarina; well not in the romantic department even though I know every girl has that person. I can now imagine Katy Perry’s The One That Got Away playing in the background. So back to Sarina, I could relate to her on her job department. Since we are both architects, you guys have no idea how much I love this book because of the architectural references on it.

The book for me is a very light read since it was not really all about the romance. And I got my fair share of reading chick-lit books, to be honest, I rarely finish them. But with this particular book I could not even put it down. Maybe it was about how the story was composed. Sarina also had her hardships in life, not having a father around until John came in to the picture and losing her mother in such an early stage in her life. You could not imagine the grief she was going through so I think giving her 100% to her work is a part of her coping process.

She was happy..er, contented with her life already. I could not say happy because well for me happy and being contented are two different things. There was still something missing in her before I could say she IS happy AND contented. And that’s when Eamon came in to the picture again.

Oh, one more thing I love about this book is her room mate, Danny and her pet cat, Newman. There’s just something about gay best friends and cats. lol.

I don’t want to spoil you guys so much in to this book because I want you guys to read it for yourself. It was a heartwarming novel and it will take you back to those “what if” nights. This is not only about that one person that got away and came back but it’s also a woman’s journey to find her forever home.

So here’s another excerpt inside the book which I know we could all use in our lives:

I think sometimes you get so used to being with someone that it’s just a habit, not something that really makes you happy.

So if you want read it, add it on Goodreads right now! Or pick yourself a copy of this book! I know I did.

And now,  Bethany Chase goes up to my favorite authors list. Hurray!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

