The Perfect Bargain (How to Marry a Highlander #1)

25651777Synopsis: 

American lass seeks brawny Scot…
As if being newly single isn’t brutal enough, Sloane Chatfield’s friends are getting obnoxious about setting her up. When Sloane insists she’s waiting for a certain sexy fictional Highlander to come along, her friends surprise her with a trip to Scotland to find her a new boyfriend. She’d rather have a root canal. But if she can find a Highland hunk to “break her heart” before her friends arrive…
In a remote Highland village, Galen Buchanan is struggling to keep the family pub afloat. Everything is falling apart, he’s running out of money, and now there’s an opinionated American lass parked at his best table, driving him mad. But then Sloane asks Galen to be her pretend Highland boyfriend…and offers him enough money to save the pub. It’s only for a few days, he figures. What’s the worst that could happen?

I’ll be here to keep you warm, lass.

The first thing that made me pick up this book is that it involves a Buchanan. I’ve been reading a lot of Julie Garwood since last month and she has these bad ass agents who are from Scotland and their last names are Buchanan. So, with that reference I just can not read this book.

So when I finally started reading this yesterday, OMG. Why do I always fall in love with any Julie works I find on Goodreads. What’s with all the Julia’s writing a swoon-worthy male character? I instantly like the Galen Buchanan!

So the story begins when Sloane Chatfield went to Scotland to find a fake boyfriend so that her best friends will stop setting her up to different kinds of dates. I know what are you thinking, why the hell do you need to go to Scotland to find a fake boyfriend?! Well, see here lassies, they started watching Outlander and they fell for Jamie Fraser and well let’s just say with that reference she decided to find a Scottish lad.

So yeah, he met Galen Buchanan, a simple man who’s struggling to keep his pub running. So that’s when Sloane seize the opportunity, she wanted her best friends to stop meddling in her love life, right? So she asked..well, contracted Galen to be her fake boyfriend. She’s willing to pay $2,000 for his services! Now that’s one desperate woman! Galen didn’t want to at first but seeing the condition of his pub he finally give in.

I loved how everything was fast paced and there were no dull moments. The falling in love parts came in the right time. I loved how Galen made Sloane come out of her prim and proper self. She rode a horse, built a fence and even pumped water! That was all beyond her but she did it anyway. My favorite part was their time inside the cottage when the cold was unbearable Sloane wanted him beside her because he felt like a furnace. lol

I don’t want to spoil you guys so much about this book. You just need to pick it up yourself. It was a great read for me because there was a lot of humor and love inside this book and of course Outlander references. You guys will surely love this novel! I sure did.

How could you say no to this?

But you’ve made a difference in my life. I never realized how lonely I was until you nosed into my pub. I’ve tried to let it go, God knows I have. It’s crazy, aye, but I donna care. I couldna let you go now if I tried.”

Liked it lass? Now go pick up the book and read it! :p

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Bargain (How to Marry a Highlander #1)

Leave a Reply

