Little Black Classics: No.3 The Saga of Gunnlaug Serpent-tongue by Anonymous

24874331

‘In two I’ll slice the hair-seat / of Helga’s kiss-gulper’

While reading this novel I needed to adjust because there was a lot of names that is being constantly repeated. But overall, the book is easy to understand since it was already translated in to a more friendly manner. Even the poems that are inside the book are pretty much easy to understand with the helpful legends on its sides.

It took me a 10-20 pages before I got used to the writing style of the author but after getting through those numerous family names, I enjoyed the book. I enjoyed how it talks about personal growth, since at the beginning of the book, Gunnlaug didn’t know what he really wanted to do with his life. But after a lot of traveling he got a direction in life. I also enjoyed how he fought for his love for Helga the Fair and for his pride.

For a new reader in the classics department I think did pretty well hanging into this book. I rated it a good 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

